Lodging list: It's an all motel trip. - British Columbia 2019 - CycleBlaze

Lodging list: It's an all motel trip.

We haven't carried camping gear for the past 4-5 years. We make all of our reservations in advance and have always gotten to the planned town each night. We appreciate a hot shower and a soft bed at night. My approach is to research and reserve every night before leaving home. We have done this for trips as long as six weeks. In tourist areas, this approach is imperative. Other moteling bicycle tourists reserve 4-7 days in advance to give a little flexibility to the schedule. Some people choose to carry a tent, just in case. Those are all options.

My personal criteria for a lodging overnight is clean, on route, relatively inexpensive, and close to services. It's a balancing act. Your priorities might be different.

When I make the reservation for the first/last night, I always ask in advance if I can leave our vehicle and make sure to write the person's name down. In Missoula at the Super 8, they charged us a fee and we filled out a form. In Spokane Valley's Super 8, the check in clerk seemed quite doubtful about my parking, but when I mentioned that I'd spoken with Laura (the manager), then all was well. I have been turned down on the parking request. I then keep looking for another motel.

When I make my reservation, I mention that we are bicycle tourists and might be arriving early, could we have an early check in time. I also ask for a ground floor room. By mentioning the bicycle in advance, that is their chance to state their bicycle policy. If they don't say anything, I presume the bike in the room is fine. I do try to be considerate and protect the wall by draping a wash cloth over the bike where it contacts the wall. It's simple and is being a good ambassador for other cyclists.

I have found that we get a better price when reserving in the dead of winter for summer. Example, in Cranbrook, BC we paid $53. USD for a room that was going for $84. CAD (according to the sign). I generally reserve direct with the motel, that's easier if I need to cancel or make a change later. I also make a point of writing down the person's name I made the reservation with. Jim said he reserved mostly through one of the booking websites and he got a cheaper price than I did on several nights. It's like buying airline tickets, you can drive yourself crazy trying to get the best deal.

Here is where we stayed this trip, in case anyone would like to follow in our bicycle tracks.

Spokane Valley, WA - Super 8 Motel $79.

Couer d'Alene, WA - Super 8 Motel $111.

Sandpoint, ID - Quality Inn

Bonner's Ferry, ID - Kootany Valley Motel $74.52 (bikes outside)

Yahk, BC Yahk Motel and Campground -$95.(bikes outside)

Cranbrook, BC - Motel 6 - $53.

Skookumchuck Motel and RV Park, BC $101.

Radium Hot Springs, BC $165.

Vermillion Crossing, BC $203.61 cabin

Lake Louise, AB - Mountaineer Lodge $356.89(per night) (bikes in their basement storage)

Golden, BC - Ponderosa Mountain Lodge $145. (bikes outside)

Donald, BC - Camper's Haven - $100. cabin

Canyon Hot Springs, BC - $184. cheapest lodging with bedding, there were choices

Revelstoke, BC - Gateway Inn - $138.

Halcyon Hot Springs, BC - $237.19 - cabin-there's a variety of choices - we went with closest to the food.

New Denver, BC - Glacier View Cabins $106.40

Balfour, BC - Acorn House $200. entire house. (bikes outside)

Castlegar, BC - Fireside Inn $141./$181 (first night, second night)

Salmo, BC - SalCrest Motel $99.

Ione, WA - Riverview Motel

Newport, WA - Antler Motel $79.95

Spokane Valley, WA - Super 8 Motel ($99. - price went up)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0