More Hills than Mountains - Going Up Down East - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2023

More Hills than Mountains

Meadville to New Castle

Today was a day that I was not looking forward to: the dreaded hills of Pennsylvania. As it turned out, the hills weren’t bad at all or, maybe, the White, Green, and Adirondack Mountains taught me a thing or two about climbing.

The day started with a pretty darn good hotel breakfast. Biscuit and gravy, wee cheese omelette, Raisin Bran, a slice of buttered bread, coffee, and OJ.

Getting back to the route 1.5 miles away in downtown Meadville was simple enough and all downhill. Once on route I headed south and up.

Up 300 feet, down 200, up 200, down 400 etc. All day long. None of the climbs seemed particularly steep. I’d find a gear, get into a rhythm and just spin. No walking. No stopping.

The smoke from the Canadian wildfires was back so I put on my new N95 mask.

Smoky day
Heart 0 Comment 0

I lost my second item today, my first being a razor back in New Hampshire. Today I lost a sun sleeve. (It’s a sleeve you wear on your arms in lieu of sunscreen.)

I was initially going to stay in Mercer with a Warmshowers host but I decided the 40-mile day would leave me with too much distance and climbing for my ride to Pittsburgh tomorrow.

I decided to ride to New Castle, near the Ohio state line. My route went from Meadville to Cochranton to Sandy Lake to Mercer to New Castle.

The road quality declined near the end of the day. I started to see potholes and other winter distress on the roads. I also had to deal with the odd depression in the travel lane caused Amish buggy horses.

Speaking of horses, I saw one colt with its mother near the road. I stopped to take a picture and mom was not having it. She started to trot away with her youngster.

Come back!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I grabbed lunch at a Subway, my first of the trip, that was attached to a gas station convenience store. Outside an Amish man was filling up a gas can. He parked his horse and buggy off to the side.

Personally, I think the horse was feeling disrespected
Heart 0 Comment 0

After yesterday’s very good experience at a Holiday Inn Express, I decided to spring for another. Nice hotels sure beat the skanky ones I usually stay at.

I’m staying with friends in Pittsburgh tomorrow night then, if I get some weather luck, I can camp for the remaining five days of the tour.

Time to go check out the burrito joint next door.

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 2,228 miles (3,586 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0