A Brake from the Roads - Going Up Down East - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2023

A Brake from the Roads

Pittsburgh to Connelsville

Earl and Anne prepared me a hearty breakfast and sent me on my way to the GAP Trail.

It was only four miles and a couple of steep hills from their house. No complaints here.

The trail winds through areas once dominated by the steel industry and eventually changes to a ride through the woods with the Youghiogheny River on the left. For the next 120 miles the trail climbs at about a one percent grade.

The surface is hard packed dirt with crushed limestone on top. It rained for the first half of the ride so limestone grit worked it’s way into every part of The Mule.

Gapping
Heart 0 Comment 0
More Gapping
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yough at lunchtime
Heart 0 Comment 0

Over the past few days the brakes on The Mule have started to fail. This is caused by brake pad wear and cable stretch. I’ve put these brakes through hell so, if anything, I’m surprised they lasted this long.

After having lunch at a trailside food truck I rode uphill to a Rite Aid in West Newton. I decided not to go inside and instead rode down hill in the parking lot. That's when I discovered that my brakes were kaput. I managed to slow my roll by turning back uphill. As luck would have it there was bike shop in across the street where a mechanic interrupted his lunch to adjust my brakes.

They seemed to be working great but the grit did its thing and they started to rub. I didn’t figure this out until the end of the day when I arrived at Connelsville.

Yough near Connelsville
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trailside camping area in Connelsville had Adirondack shelters to sleep in. About a half mile from camp is a hotel that offer campers a shower for $15 and a hose and rags to clean off your bike. I partook of both and that’s when I learned of my brake problem.

Adirondack shelter with The Mule
Heart 0 Comment 0

I seem to have fixed the front brake but, for the third straight tour, my rear brake defies proper adjustment. I’m upgrading to a $200 brake when I get home.

If the rubbing continues I’m going to disconnect my rear brake. (The front brake does most of the work anyway.)

There are four other DC-bound riders in camp tonight. All five of us are going to get soaked tomorrow. Man, I am done with rain on this tour!

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 2,355 miles (3,790 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0