Information - Bali in the warm sun - CycleBlaze

Information

For all those little bits of information

Mapping
I joined the Bali groupies on Facebook about six months ago and whenever they mention a tourist site, I marked it on Google maps. Now I've got too much to see. That's why I'm concentrating on the west side of the island. Google maps allows you to create a track with ten points, so I went from one point to the next to create my route. From there I put the information into GPS Visulizer to create a GPX file and that was put into Google My Maps which creates a layer in Google maps, which has been downloaded to work as offline maps. I've also placed the track data in Maps Me for my phone.

Airfares
The base airfare was $420. Then 30kg of checked baggage cost $40. Plus Jetstar has imposed a $25 oversize luggage fee on items over 1 metre. Total cost return $550

Sim cards
They have just cracked down on Sim registration so you'll need to register at one of the phone providers offices. I went to the Teclkomsel office on in the Galeria Mal (-8.723001, 115.18245) and got 6GB of data for 230000 or $23 Aud. Some days later I checked my data balance and I had heaps more data than I signed for, think I got ripped off somewhere.

New Gear
High vis yellow Ortlieb handlebar bag, cost 180 Aud. Got an OTG cable for the tablet $15, allows me to connect to the Garmin. Bellweather high vis, UPF 40+ long sleeve top.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0