June 11-12: San Diego to Panama City, Panama - Bad Tans and Beautiful Legs - CycleBlaze

June 11, 2022 to June 12, 2022

June 11-12: San Diego to Panama City, Panama

After many months of daydreaming, planning, packing, minor panicking, and finessing the details, my departure day finally arrived. I loaded my bike into my parents' car and together we drove to San Diego for my 10:30pm redeye flight to Miami. But before getting dropped off at the airport, we enjoyed a delicious homemade meal with my aunt and uncle in North Park. What an excellent way to kick off this trip.

Hasta agosto San Diego!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Can't forget these two either!
Heart 5 Comment 2
Lucy MartinYour dad donning your helmet 💗
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Once at the airport, check-in was a breeze, and it turns out my bike box weighed a measly 41 pounds! Clearly we have some recalibrating to do to our home scale. Security was also quicker than anticipated, so I got to my gate with time to spare. We departed on-time and I settled in for the overnight flight.

Restless and yet also excited, I arrived into Miami at 6:15 AM. I had a couple of hours to kill before boarding my flight to Panama City, so I napped a bit and filled up on breakfast. 

The flight to Panama City took just over two hours. Upon arriving, I cleared customs and immigration and retrieved my bike from the oversized luggage carousel. I dragged it to a quiet corner of the airport and began the tedious process of reassembly, hoping I hadn't forgotten any crucial parts or tools to do so. 

The hardest part of putting it back together was finding a place to dispose of the box!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once reassembled, I rolled my bike outside, where the stifling Central American air immediately reminded me of the year I spent teaching English in Campeche, Mexico. The weather was foreboding, with afternoon thunderheads slowly amassing and promising a coming deluge. But, feeling charged and ready to go, I mounted my bike and pedaled my first of countless pedal strokes that would take me to Ecuador. 

The streets around the airport were chaotic, and a steady rain fell as I biked four kilometers to my AirBnB on the outskirts of the city. 

Taking a quick break from the downpour under a bus shelter. Do you ever have those moments when you think "what have I gotten myself into?" The past 18 hours have been just that for me.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Excellent words for the road: "While getting to your destination, enjoy the road."
Heart 6 Comment 0

Brian, one of my cycling partners, would be arriving later in the evening. In the meantime, I decided to roam the neighborhood and pick up a few snacks for the road to Sabanitas tomorrow. I also got a hamburger and milkshake from a little roadside stand for $4.50. Not bad, Panama. Not bad at all.

Today's ride: 4 km (2 miles)
Total: 4 km (2 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Angie NehlsI am so excited and look forward to following you on your adventure! We all are!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago