To Cedar Point - Winging it up the Atlantic Coast - CycleBlaze

April 27, 2024

To Cedar Point

Our campsite near Jacksonville is the first one where I've enjoyed writing al fresco. There are no bugs here. We don't have far to go today and Barry has some shopping to do in town so I have a blessed hour of alone time. 

Fresh air and solitude
Heart 3 Comment 0

On the way in to Jacksonville the map shows a road off to the east of U.S. 17 - gravel, but it looks easy. I push my wide load through the weeds around the gate and go a little ways before I get to the No Trespassing sign. It's some kind of government installation. This would have been nice to know back at the gate. Turning around, I fall back in with the cars on US 17. Later I'll hear from Mike that he forged ahead on the gravel and rode past some military personnel who cared not at all that he was there. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Now you tell me
Heart 3 Comment 1
Cheryl KellerThat would deter me as well.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Crossing the New River into Jacksonville
Heart 3 Comment 0

At the bike shop Barry has found the extra layer he needed and a water bottle to replace the one he lost a couple days ago. We meet up on the bike trail that parallels the 17 Business Loop and find a great pizza place for lunch. 

The afternoon turns grey and steely. We've had a few days of cooler weather with highs in the 60s. I hope we get back to the warmer late spring groove tomorrow when we'll be back by the beach. 

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith AdamsAt least traffic's light.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago

We set up camp at a US Forest Service campground where Barry's America the Beautiful parks pass gets us the half-off discount. There's a price to pay for this cheap sleep of course. The No-See-ums are hungry here. Not only can I not see them, I don't feel them until after they've injected their itchy goo all over my neck and head. I'll have to step up my bug defense game.

After tonight we'll have two more sleeps until we get to the ferry to Ocracoke and start up the Outer Banks. I hope at least one of them will be indoors. 

Heart 3 Comment 0

 

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 1,377 miles (2,216 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rachael AndersonSorry you are getting so many bites!
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Janice BranhamTo Rachael AndersonSince I found a good sleeping mat it's the main thing that really mars the camping experience. I do have a mosquito net to throw over my head, just have to remember to do that before the bugs find me.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago