To Cedar Island - Winging it up the Atlantic Coast - CycleBlaze

April 29, 2024

To Cedar Island

We're cycling a lovely lonely road today on U.S. 70 through the Down East coastal towns. The few motorists on the road are in no rush and a light tailwind pushes us along. I'm getting used to the single speed groove. It takes a while, but once I get going the gear I'm locked into is fine.

Dollar General in Sealevel is the best stop for provisions. From there we detour off the route to the town of Atlantic for lunch. WhitePoint Takeout here is the only restaurant open today east of Otway. There's nothing else until we get to Ocracoke on the ferry tomorrow. The side trip adds a few miles to our day, which is fine. This will be a shortish ride, plenty of time. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
It took five tries before I caught this heron in my frame. Such a graceful bird.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Fishing boats in Atlantic
Heart 2 Comment 0
Got my first fried clam strips of the trip here. Delicious.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Mike talked to a homeowner and got permission to have our lunch on his breezy dock. Afterwards we meander on to Cedar Island where we'll catch the ferry to Ocracoke tomorrow morning. 

My favorite thing about the town of Cedar Island is the motel. I need a break from the bugs, and a good nap. 

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Room sweet room
Heart 6 Comment 2
Karen PoretPleasant dreams ;)
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Karen PoretPleasant dreams ;)
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

After naptime in a real bed, the beach is a close second favorite thing in Cedar Island. The tide is low and the wind isn't too wild yet although it picks while I'm out walking the beach. Mike's been out here for hours. In his book this is the best day of the trip so far. Calm roads, pretty scenery, the long empty beach and an easy schedule all make for a great day on the coast. 

Heart 5 Comment 0

We got some advice today about my non-functioning shifter from Tim Brummer at Lightning Bicycles, and Hank Holz, the original owner of my bike. The consensus is that the cable needs to be replaced. Hopefully I can find someone in Virginia Beach who is up for the job.

After supper Barry spends some more time fiddling with the twist shifter. He turns the bike upside down to spin the wheels and succeeds in getting it shift work again. Now I'm conflicted. Do I use the shifter as usual, and risk get stuck in a bad gear if it breaks again? Should I replace the cable if it's still working when we get to Virginia Beach? I'm thinking yes on both counts but we'll see how it goes.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 37 miles (60 km)
Total: 1,457 miles (2,345 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0