Mount Rushmore KOA to Mount Rushmore Memorial to Custer: Rain and fog and bed bugs, oh my! - A Short Ride on the Mickelson Trail - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2016

Mount Rushmore KOA to Mount Rushmore Memorial to Custer: Rain and fog and bed bugs, oh my!

It poured rain and hailed most of the might. The roads in the campground were flooded, and even a short trip to the wash house left me soaking wet. The cabin was quiet, but I kept waking up with the storm. And it felt like something unrelenting was crawling around on me.

When I got up in the morning, I immediately found a couple of small roach-like bugs on my white sleeping bag liner. I didn't realize what they were until I noticed a lot of splotchy blood marks on the liner. Aaack! Bed bugs. I found a couple more in the bed, and sort of freaked out, posting to the forum here on CGOAB asking for advice. Thanks to everyone who has responded.

I had breakfast outside the cabin, pondered the situation without any real conclusion, and packed up. When the office opened at 8, I returned the key, and told them they have bed bugs in cabin 206. They seemed sympathetic, and said they would do bed bug relief in the cabin.

It was a bit foggy, but not raining, so I left most of my baggage in the office and took off up Mount Rushmore to see the memorial. Pretty quickly, and with increasing elevation, the fog got worse and the rain picked up. I've been reminded before that Mount Rushmore is a mountain, and that even the Black Hills really are mountains, and now I can make that assertion myself. It was a tough climb. And when I got to the top, it was completely fogged in. I couldn't see the presidents at all!

Heart 0 Comment 0
The hail from last night's storm looked a lot like snow.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me, with the presidents in the background. Yes, they were consumed by the fog.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode back down to the KOA, had a cold drink (I was pretty warm from riding the uphill sections in my rain jacket) and collected my bags. As I was packing up, one of the managers came to talk to me, and said that he had tossed my cabin, and didn't find any signs of the bugs. I assured him I was not mistaken, described what had happened again, and tried to emphasize that regardless of what he found, they should not rent that cabin again until it was properly cleaned.

And then I rode the 3 miles, up and down, to connect back to the Mickelson Trail. I decided that with the crummy weather, and not wanting to spread the bedbugs, I would head back south toward my car.

The trail was pretty soft and soggy from the storm, and eroded in sections.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I jumped onto the highway when the opportunity presented, and struggled up the long hill to the Crazy Horse Memorial.

Entry to the Crazy Horse Memorial from the road. Notice the wind!
Heart 0 Comment 0

From there, I got back onto the trail and enjoyed the rolling downhill to Custer.

I'm camped at the French Creek RV resort. It's a funky place right in downtown Custer, behind City Hall. I set up my tent, had a hot shower, and went to Burgers and Buns for dinner. Burgers seem to be the most common dinner option in this part of the country. The burger was good. Not as good as the one in Pringle, but still good. I was seated at a long table with some other tourists, and enjoyed the conversation as well as the food. Then I had some ice cream, since no bike trip is complete without ice cream.

I'm back at camp now, and it's raining again.

What I didn't see. From the brochure available at the gate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entry to the office at the French Creek RV resort.
Heart 0 Comment 0

25.84 miles, 2352 feet of climbing.

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 88 miles (142 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0