Introduction - A Short Ride on the Mickelson Trail - CycleBlaze

Introduction

I need to get away from home. You know the travel itch. I don't have a lot of time. I'm trying to squeeze this trip in between the wet and dreary Spring that is uncharacteristic of my home in Colorado but still seems to be happening, and a small family gathering in New Mexico. So it's going to be a combination road trip in my car and a bike trip on my, well, bike.

The bike is My Co-motion Pangea, and it has been reconfigured since my last tour. I've replaced the drop style handlebars with Jones Loop bars, and the Brooks saddle with another that has longer rails and lets me move it further back. One of the benefits of this short tour will be to let me check out my comfort with this new configuration.

I'm going to spare you the labored equipment list, and just comment that I hope to do some camping, stealth or otherwise, and that I'm hauling the full load of camping equipment in 4 panniers. I'm expecting some cool nights, so I have warm clothes, too. To indicate how much this tour is by the seat of my pants, I haven't even weighed my load!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith AdamsThis journal comes very timely to me, as I'm planning to include a big chunk of the Mickelson Trail in my tour next summer. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Susan ShoreI hope it's useful. Just remember that it it a few years old and that things change. Have fun planning!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago