Getting there: Wednesday, May 18th 2016 - A Short Ride on the Mickelson Trail - CycleBlaze

May 18, 2016

Getting there: Wednesday, May 18th 2016

It's roughly 400 miles from home to Edgemont, SD. Edgemont is the southern end and milepost 0 of the Mickelson Trail. I drove it in one fell swoop, stopping only at a gas station for a fill up and to clean the bug splatter from my windshield.

I found the Chamber of Commerce in Edgemont (it's in the florist shop) and bought a trail pass, and then had a bite to eat nearby. I was happy to hear that there is a campground in Edgemont. It isn't much, but has bathrooms and showers. I checked it out, drove to the nearby town of Hot Springs to look around, and then back to Edgemont. I settled in at the campground, took a shower and heated some water for tea. It's pretty windy, and cooling off fast. I'm planning on sleeping in my car and trying to get an early start on the trail in the morning.

I'm not regaling you with tales of the other campers, because I'm the only one here so far tonight.

Edgemont trailhead
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Edgemont City Park, where the trailhead is. A peculiar mix of railroad paraphernalia, trailhead signs, and large guns. And a playground, which has been busy while I've been here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another Edgemont Trailhead sign. It's in the same park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Edgemont Municipal Campground. The building had the bathrooms and showers, and doubles as a playhouse for melodramas!
Heart 0 Comment 0
My campsite. My bike is out of the car to allow more comfortable sleeping.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More history in the city park.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0