Off the Map to Camano Island - The Any Road Tour - DC to the PNW - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2018

Off the Map to Camano Island

Anacortes to Camano Island

After a spaghetti dinner, another pale ale, and a restful sleep, I awoke somewhat energized. A delicious breakfast at the Calico Cupboard Cafe put me in a good mood.

I loaded up the bike and headed west, to Washington Park, a few miles beyond the ferry terminal. The clerk at the hotel suggested that the loop ride through the park would be a great capstone to my tour.

She was right. There were views of the islands and, I think the northwestern edge of the Olympic Peninsula. It was blue, the trees were green, and the air was fresh. The loop road was steep in parts so my granny gear got a bit of a work out.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Some nice people took my picture with The Mule.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After the loop road I doubled back to Anacortes and headed east off Fidalgo Island. I was headed south to Camano Island and the home of Tim Jones, a high school classmate, and his wife, Michele Rushworth.

I had to rely on The Google. The ride was super easy. I was pushed along flat farm roads by a north wind. The crops were varied from potatoes to corn to cherries to rhubarb to squash to winter wheat and many more. I know because the farms put up signs for city slickers like me. There was a beautiful fine green grain that swayed in the breeze. No sign indicated what it was but my money’s on rice.

When the route neared a traffic circle, The Google went haywire. It told me to go through a small town and turn around. I stopped and checked the route. The traffic circle connects to a busy two lane highway going straight south. Looks okay to me. And so I played with the big metal things for an hour.

The road to Camano Island was blocked by a two-car crash so I followed a detour. It was a mix of farms and wooded areas. Not a bad little ride.

On Camano Island The Google decided to go into Mountains of Misery mode. It took me on side roads to avoid the main drag down the island. Theses were the kind of abrupt ups and downs I hated in east Ohio.

I hit 35 mph on a descent after grinding up a hill in my granny gear.

The last bit was incredibly steep. Right up to the house I was weaving across the road in my smallest gear and standing to make it to the top. The nastiest bit of climbing so far no the tour!

Tim and Michele had previous plans for dinner so I took over their deck for the evening. That’s Mount Baker in the distance. Not a bad place for a day off tomorrow.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Miles: 55.5

Tour Miles: 5,796

Today's ride: 56 miles (90 km)
Total: 3,812 miles (6,135 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0