Going to the End of the Line - The Any Road Tour - DC to the PNW - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2018

Going to the End of the Line

Rockport to Anacortes

I camped on the banks of the Skagit River in a surprising nice town park in Rockport Washington. I awoke at 4 sore in every joint and every vertebra in my body. Vitamin I to the rescue.

Heart 0 Comment 0

On the road by 6:20 and up a short steep hill to discover the town gas station was closed. No gas station breakfast for me. Sad face.

I rode 9 miles to Concrete. The Google directed me to a specialty bakery in town. I ordered hash and got a skillet. It was okay but not the gut bomb the day required.

Luckily the day required nothing but riding on a pool table into a sight headwind. I should have taken the highway and it’s smooth pavement but I followed my maps and endured chip seal for 30 miles.

As I approached my first salt waters, I saw big hills ahead. Anacortes has a little in common with San Francisco, I’m afraid.

Luckily the route maps took me around the hills and into downtown. I spent 45 minutes riding out to the ferry terminal just to say I rode to the end of the line of Adventure Cycling's Northern Tier Route.  The ferry to Vancouver Island and the San Juans will have to wait for a future adventure.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I am pooped!

Fortunately my high school classmate Tim Jones lives about 50 miles from here and has offered me some R&R.

A very large mountain (Rainer, I think) looms over this place and makes me feel like a poser. Damn, it’s big.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode back up town for food and a celebratory drink. Road Trip pale ale was on tap.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Now it’s time to find a room.

Miles: 66

Trip Miles: 3,740.5

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 3,756 miles (6,045 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0