Bikeless in Bikeville - The Any Road Tour - DC to the PNW - CycleBlaze

July 24, 2018

Bikeless in Bikeville

I have four things to do while in Portland and I did three of them today thanks to Eric and his wife Sue’s station wagon.

We drove to West End Bikes in downtown Portland and dropped off The Mule for its shipment home. The service department people seems to be very competent so I have a good feeling that this is going to work out fine. Still, parting with The Mule was difficult after over 4,300 miles.

Next up was a trip to Andy and Bax Army surplus across the Willamette River. It took all of four minutes to find a big duffle bag. (Later I tried out all my stuff and it looks like I can make this work without incurring luggage charges on my flight home.)

Chores completed, we drove to Multnomah Falls up the Columbia River gorge. The parking lot was closed, but we could see people leaving, so we drove to the next exit and doubled back. And the parking lot was magically open!

The hiking trails were closed but we did get to check out the falls from the base and the walking bridge part way up the cliff.

As you can see, my head completely absorbed the water.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow we may drive to the coast.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0