Last Day on the Bike - The Any Road Tour - DC to the PNW - CycleBlaze

July 23, 2018

Last Day on the Bike

The hostel served its purpose. It had a bed and shower, and was walking distance to Powell’s book store.

I spent the evening hanging around the hostel, sampling a local koltsch.

This morning after checking out I rolled to Voodoo doughnuts. I had the Mafia fritter, a concoction only a deviant mind could invent.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Then I rode about 10 miles to my niece Shannon’s house. It was a mighty hilly ride.

I spent about five hours there. Once my grandnephew took a nap he was a fun play buddy. He’s currently trying to figure out how to crawl. I pulled out my grandpop’s knee bouncing act, perhaps my earliest memory.

He also had fun playing with the crinkle quilt my wife made him.

Heart 0 Comment 0

His mom is a happy, if tired, camper.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After baby time, I rode a few miles to my friend Eric’s house. Eric and I worked together for years. He’s putting me up for a few nights so that I can get The Mule and me home Thursday night.

Mikes: 12

Tour Miles: 4,313.5

Today's ride: 12 miles (19 km)
Total: 4,331 miles (6,970 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0