A little about us - From the North Sea to the Adriatic - CycleBlaze

A little about us

In 2009 I turned 70. Ken and I thought this warranted a special challenge. For us it was to travel the Via Francigena, the ancient pilgrim way from Canterbury to Rome. Used to long distance trekking we thought we would walk it, but it would have taken us 90 days and we couldn't be away for that length of time. So we turned to bikes.

They say you never forget how to ride a bike but a gap of 45 years initially challenged this for me. However in August 2009 we packed up our bikes and flew from our home in New Zealand to Gatwick. We put our bikes together there and rode to Rome. We were hooked. I am a 'born again cyclist'!

This year on August 13th our next adventure begins.

We live on a vineyard, the pruning is finished so now we can go. The dogs would like to come too but I have explained that isn't possble
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0