An addendum regarding Condor - Altmühl and Taubertal Radwegs - CycleBlaze

An addendum regarding Condor

After several emails back and forth regarding my complaint about the lack of bicycle delivery, I finally received a response from condor. It was as follows (my paraphrase): sorry. Not our fault. These things happen. We’ll cover your expense for the bicycle box. Thanks for flying condor. We hope to see you again soon. 

Jump ahead approximately two days. Thomas Cooke Travel, the parent company of Condor declares bankruptcy. I’m not saying there’s a correlation here, but it’s certainly some bad karma and a huge mess for travelers and a terrible situation for the thousands of people now out of a job. Condor, for the moment, is still operating, but according to the news they are begging the German government for a “small” loan to tide them over. I would like to suggest they try improving their customer service and see if that doesn’t help them bring in more customers....

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Mike AylingWas Condor a lot cheaper than the next highest quote that you found?

Mike
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Ben ParkeTo Mike AylingAt the time of booking, yes. Prices more than doubled with delta compared to my last trip. The next closest I think was Iceland Air who ironically ended being the ones to bring the bike over after condor failed to notice it didn’t make the plane. I’m not sure what Condor prices are running right now. Given the dicey financial position they’re in I wouldn’t book with them even if the bike incident hadn’t occurred simply because I don’t fancy being stranded like people with Thomas Cooke bookings have found themselves. I enjoy Europe, but at the end of my trips I also enjoy arriving home in a timely manner.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago