"Sausages Ahead!" Les Saisies to Bourg St. Maurice - Another Alpine Amble - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2023

"Sausages Ahead!" Les Saisies to Bourg St. Maurice

I enjoyed my evening in Les Saisies. Its main business is winter sports, so it was largely in hibernation mode, but there's something quite nice about out-of-season resorts, I think, and there was just enough life still in the place to make it seem welcoming. Also open was the 'Mountain Twister' all-weather luge ride, which rattled/whooped down just outside my hotel window.  I was tempted to give it a whirl, remembering some exhilarating spins down a similar thing in my local theme park when I was a child; but then I also remembered how many broken legs that ride used to generate, pictured some Awkward Explanations if I had to make a repeat appearance at the fracture clinic in Durham Hospital, and generally thought better of it.

So, still in one piece, and after a very good breakfast (featuring an entire table full of local jams: shamefully I failed to document this...), I hit the road again, enjoying -- first of all - the payback for all yesterday's climbing: 15km of (almost) unbroken descent.

First sighting of Mt Blanc, on the way down to Beaufort.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Of course this was too good to last, and the road first flattened out and then, after Beaufort (where I resisted the temptation to load up on cheese), tilted upwards.

Following the wise advice of the internet, I turned off the main 'Route des Grandes Alpes' here, and headed instead towards the small village of Arêches. This had the immediate advantage of taking me past a very nice boulangerie, where I stopped for a second breakfast, and the longer-term benefit of routing me up a much smaller road, quite well-frequented by cyclists, but almost completely free of motorbikes and cars. The disadvantage, as might be predicted, was that it was a bit steep.  But beautiful!

And so it begins...
Heart 10 Comment 0
Hairpins...
Heart 7 Comment 0
... and more Hairpins
Heart 7 Comment 0

Eventually, the top arrived, and with it, the return of even more spectacular views.

Just before the Col, Mt Blanc reappears. (Unusually for a Serious Lycra Man, this chap was willing to compromise his strava time for the sake of a photo of the view. (As was I!))
Heart 7 Comment 0
The actual top is quite understated, by Alpine standards.
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was just after noon by now, and so when a mountain restaurant appeared, just at the top of the descent, it seemed foolish not to stop.  And when I saw the view from their terrace: doubly foolish.

Lunchtime View. Acceptable. (My afternoon road, to the Cormet de Roselend, is the one which cuts diagonally across the slope on the opposite side of the lake.)
Heart 9 Comment 0

After my Tripe Misadventure last year, I was trying to be more cautious about sticking to a google-before-ordering-mystery-things rule, but the menu was full of something called 'Diot', and I didn't have any mobile signal, and hey -- what's the worst that can happen? (The worst, as previously established, is a giant bowl of Tripe Stew...).  Anyway: it turns out that Diot is a type of delicious Savoyard Sausage.  Perfect cycling food!  (Esp. with added cheese on toast...)

A perfect cycling snack.
Heart 4 Comment 0

The only slight constraint on my enjoyment of my lunch was the fact that that lovely view I was enjoying was also the next hill that I had to climb up: the Cormet de Roselend.  (Which featured in the men's Tour de France this year; the people on the neighbouring table to me were reminiscing about that day...).  So I dragged myself out of my seat, and set off again: initially downhill, then over the dam, round the lake, and then -- slowly! -- up the other side.

Over the dam...
Heart 7 Comment 0
... and round ...
Heart 9 Comment 0
... and up!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Not too steep, but steep enough.
Heart 8 Comment 0

I was back on the main 'Route des Grandes Alpes' now, so things were a bit busier -- more motorbikes, but also more cyclists. The latter were all very encouraging as they whizzed past.  My very favourite cry, not far from the top: 'Courage! Il y a des saucissons au bout!'.  And indeed: there were Sausages Ahead! (Sold by a small stall which occupied the summit.)

Approaching the goal.
Heart 7 Comment 0
SAUSAGES! (And cheese, come to that...)
Heart 4 Comment 0
A satisfying signpost.
Heart 7 Comment 0

The sausages looked good, but both my panniers and I were pretty full, so I resisted the temptation and turned, instead, towards Bourg St Maurice -- not far away, but the descent was a bit steep and twisty in places, so I was happy to get back to the valley floor before my front brake pads completely gave up the ghost.

A slightly stressful descent, tbh...
Heart 5 Comment 0

Back on terra firma, I celebrated with a drink in a cafe in town, before rolling on to my hotel, to celebrate again with more Diot (this time on a pizza: what a versatile food!)

Pizza with sausage and potato. Savoyard cuisine at its finest.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 63 km (39 miles)
Total: 151 km (94 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 7
Susan CarpenterWhat a grand day! Summits, sausages and superb photos.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonWe biked essentially this route eight years ago, but in the other direction on our way from Moutiers to Beaufort. Good choice on your climb up from Beaufort! We dropped down the main route which was pretty scary even going downhill. It looked like it would be a hideous climb in the other direction.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Polly LowTo Susan CarpenterThank you! Sausages and cycling is always winning combo, in my book.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Polly LowTo Scott AndersonTaking the little road was definitely a good tip -- really great views of the lake that way, too (and the good restaurant!)
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Polly LowTo Scott Anderson(I'll need to re-read your journal of that trip, though!)
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Betsy EvansThat was quite a day!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Rachael AndersonWow, you are tough!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago