Introduction - Summer's Almost Gone - CycleBlaze

Introduction

I want to do some sort of bicycle tour in September, but I've hardly ridden a bike this year, at least by my usual standards. I was off the bike for seven weeks after breaking my foot in March, and even after that healed, I haven't felt like doing much of anything. I've spent an embarrassing amount of time lying on the couch. I'm sleeping ten or eleven hours most days.

Is it Long Covid? Vitamin B12 Deficiency? Some other possibly imagined ailment? Who knows.

I'm not going to do any planning for this trip. At all. I don't enjoy doing that sort of thing anymore. What I still enjoy about bicycle touring, after sixteen years of doing it, is serendipity and spontaneity. 

So, I don't know where I'll go or how long I'll be away. As I've told my wife before my last couple of tours: It might be a few days, it might be a few weeks, or it might be a few months.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0