Things for small minds to ponder (Day 7) - Aimless - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2013

Things for small minds to ponder (Day 7)

Okay, I have a gripe.

I don't have camping reservations in Arches National Park or Canyonlands National park because, hey, I'm on a bike. How the hell do I know when I'm going to be there?

So I went into the National Park information center in Moab, which covers national parks, mostly but also the Dead Horse State Park near Canyonlands, where a lot of people camp because it's a nice place and right close by. It was there I asked the ranger some questions, although I don't think she was an actual ranger, but she had a patch of some kind, indicating her higher authority with the National Park System...

Me: "Does Arches (National Park) campground have hiker-biker campsites?"

National Park Official: "No. And there is no space there. You have to make reservations well in advance."

Me: "But when you are on a bike it is difficult, if not impossible, to know where you are going to end up on any given day."

National Park Official: "Well there are no spaces there," she said, with a look that says, I've heard it all, little biker, you can't fool me with woeful tales

Me: "Other National Park campgrounds have hiker biker sites. Parks like Yosemite and The Grand Canyon. We take up very little room and the parks are millions of acres. It seems the park system should encourage people to adopt environment friendly transportation to the parks."

And to that, she responded to me with the Stink-Eye!

I really don't feel I deserve the Stink-Eye. Its a legitimate comment. And, hey, I pay taxes. For crying out loud!

I went back the next day to see about cancellations and got the same lady. She recognized me so I was on my best behavior. Still, no cancellations.

Tomorrow I'm heading to Arches National Park, with no reservation, no nothing, and I'll take things as they come. Maybe I'll get a campsite, maybe I won't. Maybe I can share a site with someone, maybe I'll stealth camp? Heck, maybe I'll just bag the whole idea of camping at Arches and ride back down to Moab to camp? I guess I'll just play it by ear.

But that's not the point. The point is, did I really deserve the Stink-Eye for saying what I said?

I guess that's for small minds to ponder.

Now see, someone is Moab is thinking. There should be seperate doors for dogs and cats at all vet clinics!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 398 miles (641 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0