Day 29: Zion NP - The Narrows - Aimless - CycleBlaze

July 9, 2013

Day 29: Zion NP - The Narrows

It was time for something different. So I set out early for The Narrows.

The Narrows is a section of the Virgin River (that runs through Zion NP) that flows through canyons that are, you know, narrow. It can be a two long day hike that requires permits, if you start way up river and hike down. But I would just hike into The Narrows from down river, and continue on until I feel like turning around, and then go back to where I started. Not that it mattered how far I went. One big advantage of today's outing is that it would be cooler, temperature wise, that is.

The hike starts at the trail head called Temple of Sinawava, which is the last stop on the shuttle route. From there its a one mile approach along the river, until you get to the narrows.

Along the way are signs posting the potential for flash floods, and potentially life threatening prospect in the narrow canyons, and what to do if you you are caught in one. Of course the best thing to do is heed the warning signs (see below) and not get caught in one at all


Heart 0 Comment 0


Once in The Narrows the canyons are impressive. I can't capture in a picture the height of the canyon walls. You will just have to trust me on this.

Basically, you spend 80% of the time hiking in the river itself. So once again my Keen cycling sandals were perfect for the job. I also snagged a hiking stick from the campground, which was helpful in keeping my footing in some places.


It looks like I am wearing boots but I'm not. The previous day, when I asked for information about the hike, the ranger insisted that I should wear long pants. Why, I don't know? But I always follow the advice of people who make recommendations to me, so long pants it was. Except, I had thrown some shorts in my pack, just in case I found that advice to be stupid, which I did, and changed them around that there left hand corner, there on my left.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0


I have no idea how far it was, but I hiked to the confluence of the Virgin River and The Other River that joins it, which is why it's called a confluence. I don't remember the name of the other river, or stream, or whatnot. What does it matter what the name is? I made it there, okay?

Anyway, about this time the crowds started to thicken. I had started early and, though there were a few people, there were not many and it was peaceful. When I started hiking out I ran into more and more Johny-come-latelys.

It was also about this time (about 3-hours into my hike) that I noticed clouds building above the canyons. I don't know about you, but clouds and flash floods go together. So while 99% of the people present were hiking IN to The Narrows, I was hiking out. Pretty stupid if you ask me. But nobody asked so I left quietly.


Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
BTW, the Virgin River water is crystal clear. Very nice to swim in.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the confluence. There is a channel on either side of the people at the end. Apparently the left channel is called Wall Street. Don't ask me why? I went off to the right a little ways, but turned around when I saw clouds starting to form. I don't like to take chances when it comes to flash flood potential.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0


Once out of the canyon I felt the heat again. It has been over 100 degrees every day for I don't know how long. So after a snack at the lodge I went back to The Grotto and a nice little swimming hole below Angels Landing.

Especially because of the no shower situation, I have been cooling off in the river every day. It works pretty well, actually. Though I wouldn't mind washing my hair. Still, just getting the primary layer of filth off makes all the difference.

Tomorrow I may do a bit of riding in the park.

Until then...

Sorry about the little water drop on the lens. I was goofing around with the camera under water before this picture was taken.
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's Angels Landing BTW It doesn't look very impressive from way down here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a picture I took underwater. Look! A fish! :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0