First Big Trip: For Penelope and John - A Dutch of Class (Another Three Nations Tour (France - Belgium - Netherlands)) - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2012

First Big Trip: For Penelope and John

As ever (when TC and I travel at any rate), publishing a journal early is (or can be) a double-edged sword. On the one hand, it can be great inspiration; it can push us to train and to buy nice kit. On the other, it can lead to red faces all around if for whatever reason, the trip falls through. And so I am acutely aware of this as I sit in my office right now, creating a journal for a voyage that is not going to take place for another eleven and a half months. Anything could happen in that time: unemployment, separation, illness, death. But - publish and be damned, and so here we are, I hereby declare that Penelope and I shall follow in my and TC's footsteps in June 2013, and Consolidation - The Three Nations Tour (France - Belgium - Netherlands) will become - a Dutch of Class (with thanks to my colleague Richard for the inspirational choice of name!). Not much 'new' in this trip for me; it's really an extended 'training' run for Penelope, who doesn't yet have our experience of touring. It will be the perfect way for her to 'consolidate' (I crack myself up...) her fitness gains, and to get used to days and days in the saddle. We've invited TC along, but it looks like he's not that keen.

I've been here before (but am still looking forward to it!)...
(note that you can move this map around, and also change the view by clicking on 'map', 'satellite', 'hybrid' etc., at the top of the map)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0