Col de Peyresourde - Six weeks in Europe - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2023

Col de Peyresourde

Done but not pretty

When you have spent the better part of the week at the base of one of the most famous climbs in the Pyrenean section of the Tour de France you just have to give it a go, so I did.  I made it but it wasn’t pretty.  I had hoped to ride it all with stops but I couldn’t.  Although the average over the whole climb was 6.5% I sure saw lotta of 7-8%. There were just too many 11% sections among the 7% sections so I had to walk a bit.  However I did ride all of the last km across the top.  This climb has almost no reprieve all the way up so it is tough.   There were a couple of times when I seriously considered quitting, but I am just too stubborn for that and once I reached the 3km mark to go there was no way that I was turning back.  I have my heart graph in the photos but safe it to say I could handle a steady 151 bpm but once it went over that for any length of time I either needed a rest or a walk to bring it down.  The day was a bit cloudy and cool so at least I didn’t have to deal with beating sun.  Here are some of the stats:

On the way up

Rolling Time - 1 hr 45 min 

Distance - 14.2 km

Avg speed - 8.15kph

Feet climbed - 2546 ft

On the way down

Rolling time - 28.4 min

Distance - 15.1km (once in town I took a different route to the hotel)

Avg speed - 31.6

Max speed - 55kph 

You could easily have gone faster but not knowing the road I took it easy.

All this to stay I am never doing anything like this again without a motor, I am just too old.

All smiles as I depart
Heart 1 Comment 0
The route
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first rest stop. I actually think they are here for winter when the road can close. There were several others along the way.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I village crest on the wall along the route.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Paying homage to the yellow and polka dot jerseys of the Tour de France. This climb is often included in the race, just not this year.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The 3km sign at which point I was not giving in to the mountain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At the top
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonOh yeah! You rocked it Margaret!!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
My bad attempt at a selfie at the top.
Heart 1 Comment 0
One of the older road makers noting the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view of the valley from the top
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonBeautiful. I see the motorcycle on the left. Probably an easier way to make it to the top!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
The road that I travelled. It is very popular with motorcyclists as well.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Hilary JaegerLovely looking road. Was there anybody near the top taking souvenir photos? I’m thinking not.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Another view of the valley
Heart 0 Comment 0
A closer view of one of the towns in the valley. I took this photo on the way down rather than up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another sign on the edge of Bagnère de Luchon paying homage to The Tour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
My heart rate graph with all of the red section being the way up. As I said I could manage a steady 151 but once over that I couldn’t last very long and if I went any slower I was going to fall off the bike.
Heart 1 Comment 3
Hilary JaegerAt least it never went to zero! Seriously, well done you!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Yvonne McLeanWow, well done Margaret. At your age too!!!
I think you're glad you did it though.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heather ParryWow , well done Marg! Really enjoying your blog and all of the photos.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
My reward.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonYeah and congratulations!!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 29 km (18 miles)
Total: 1,904 km (1,182 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0