Yellow River flood plain - 5,000 years of history - CycleBlaze

April 10, 2019

Yellow River flood plain

Traffic on the X319 was light. At Huayin, I turned North.

That road runs inside the flood plain of the Yellow River, so it's flat. Long stretches of it has a separate bicycle path. Traffic was so light that I often preferred the main road, which has fewer interruptions.

After 70 km, I crossed the Yellow River. The bridge here is a floating bridge. Given their large running costs, they have are extremely rare. It's the first time I encountered one in 22,000 km of cycling.

On the East bank, I was able to continue in the flood plain. Initially the road was an unmarked jeep track, but later became paved.

The height limit for the road on the West bank is only 2.8 m, but they can change it easily.
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's a long word.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had a brief chat with these two locals and they fed me energy bars. They were on a 5 day journey.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A school of fish in the canal. The cycleway is in the foreground.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The floating bridge.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A sheep herder on the East bank.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 128 km (79 miles)
Total: 3,026 km (1,879 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0