Clarity on my visa for China - 5,000 years of history - CycleBlaze

April 23, 2019 to April 24, 2019

Clarity on my visa for China

Before I started this trip, I bought a non refundable airline ticket with 88 days between arrival and departure. I hoped that the Chinese would give me a 90 day visa. Instead I got a visa that allows for 2 entries, each up to 60 days.

Once in China, foreigners can get "30 day" extensions. I was under the impression that I can use it to get to day 88. But today I came across an article explaining the 30 extension process and it turns out to be closer to 22 days.

Cycling to Shanghai would use up almost all the time remaining on my first entry.

So I decided to take the train to Shanghai, do some sightseeing and then fly to Hong Kong, which is considered another country for visa purposes.

The oil fields of China
Heart 0 Comment 0
This bicycle shop owner in Binzhou was so generous. He fed me and helped me with my hotel booking.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing back over the Yellow River.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Most of the time Chinese drivers don't drive on the shoulder. But on this short stretch, they overtake the slow moving trucks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bicycle packed for the train
Heart 0 Comment 0
Part of the rail journey was by high-speed train
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 296 km (184 miles)
Total: 4,797 km (2,979 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0