Another day on the train - 2 Good Blokes get lost in Europe - CycleBlaze

May 12, 2023

Another day on the train

Ljubljana to Verona

We had a day on the train. Gee it was fun. I new that you couldn’t take assembled bikes on the super fast trains but I didn’t realise that you could only take them on the super slow regional trains and not during peak times. So our only option is the 5.43am out of Ljubljana with 3 changes to get to Verona by 1.30pm. That’s a long time for not a massively long trip but I will happily concede that it is a first world problem.

John loves getting up early to catch a train.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This guy has also given up on his Slovenian trip.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’m smiling through gritted teeth. Who put the pram and bags in the bloody bike area?
Heart 1 Comment 0

The afternoon was taken up with Franklin organising a hire bike and me trying to work out how I’m going to get to Vienna in a weeks time to fly home without taking 50 hours on local trains to get there. I spend ages with a helpful guy in the ticket office who manages to get my trip down to 23 hours and then suggests I see the German train office down the hall to see if they can help. I luck in big time as the even more helpful lady there manages to find me a first class ticket via Innsbruck that only takes 7 hours. She chose First class as it was cheaper than second class. I asked her why and she launched into a long winded explanation that was completely lost on me much like when someone tries to explain how mining for cryptocurrency works. Still I’m very happy to not have to sleep on a train.
Franklin is desperately trying to cull the two suitcases worth of clothing and toiletries he’s brought with him which he needs to fit in his seat post bag for the trip. I try and offer some helpful advice, suggesting that the smoking jacket he’s brought is probably not necessary. My next suggestion is to head out for a beer which is more warmly received. 

At least it’s not raining and with some luck we’ll be on the bike tomorrow. 

Today's ride: 4 km (2 miles)
Total: 1,190 km (739 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0