The Hype Was Right - 12X26 - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2021

The Hype Was Right

Whenever I mentioned I would be riding the Root River Trail, everyone familiar with the trail told me I would love it.  This morning I was wondering if I should be excited or prepare to be disappointed.  Now I can say all the hype was justified.

The trail runs 42 miles from Fountain to Houston accompanying the river most of the way.  The Root felt just a bit more removed than the other trails I've ridden in MN and the topography changed to more rolling hills wooded terrain and limestone bluffs.

Felt like Savannah without the Spanish Moss.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Temps would drop a few degrees when you entered one of these.
Heart 2 Comment 0

This is still farm country and the corn and soy beans were never far away.

The first brick and tile silo I had seen.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Like all the other trails you would suddenly pop into a small town that was always welcoming.

Whalen MN.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Passed this by but had to circle back.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Laura biked out from Houston and we met about mile 33 and biked the 9 miles to the finish together.  We admired the Root River as it made its way to join the Mississippi 10 miles downstream.

The river was a welcomed companion.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After packing up the truck we had a short ride to our next stop.  We headed for Sparta WI where the next four trails comprise "Bike 4".  More about that tomorrow.

 

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 708 miles (1,139 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0