Sweetwater - Winterlude 2023 - CycleBlaze

December 19, 2023

Sweetwater

New Bird!  Now that definitely calls for a post.  First though, a brief aside for some Personal News: Rachael’s been sampling the different flavored coffees we showed you when we arrived, and finally found the one that really excites her: peppermint stick ice cream.  Oh it’s so delicious! 

But back to the birds.  Inspired by the Grampies who got up early and set off in the dark an hour and a half before sunrise to hunt for birds In Cozumel yesterday, I got my own early start this morning - up at five, two cups of Basic Black and a bowl of granola downed, I’m heroically out the door just past dawn at 7:30, on my way to the Saint Mary’s loop access point.

Rachael, that slug, won’t get rolling for a few hours more - but to her credit, the 44 miles she racks up riding out to Pantano Wash and back more than doubles the 19 I’ll end up with, and she does come back with a video that gives the best look at the weather conditions for the day as well as a great look at the long mural along the Rillito Wash that was only half done when we were down here last winter:

Video sound track: Guitka, by Jasmin Williams

Oh, and later she’ll brag that she saw a roadrunner, a bird I’ve got my eye out for all morning but never see.  Somehow Rachael always sees more roadrunners than I do.

It’s overcast, grey and quiet when I bike north up the Santa Cruz.  Warm enough though, considering the time of day - in the mid-fifties already, and fine with my jacket on.  I pass only a few other bikers out this early, and don’t see much in the way of birdlife: mourning doves, a few grackles, a Cooper’s hawk, and a pair of Gila woodpeckers attacking a utility pole too high up for a decent shot in this dim light.  And an Abert’s towhee, unusually perched at the top of the snag instead of hiding in the underbrush like I usually spot them.

Mourning doves.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Abert’s towhee.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Keith AdamsThat's a fine portrait.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Cooper’s hawk.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Keith AdamsAs is this! What a handsome creature.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsThanks, Keith. This was as satisfying a birding day as I can remember.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

That all changes when I come to Christopher Columbus Park and spend the next hour slowly circling Silverbell Lake.  The lake and its apron are teeming with birds this morning, and its banks are lined with a few dozen early bird fishermen.  I’ve never made it out here this early before, but it’s worth the effort.  I’m sure I’ll do this again sometime this winter.

The first birds that jump out are the usuals - grackles, red-winged blackbirds, coots and mallards are all present in large numbers.

Silverbell Lake, and a legion of American coots.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Great-tailed grackles.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Out there with them though are some more interesting finds: some ring-necked ducks and pied-billed grebes, exactly one redhead and one snow goose, but most exciting is a black-crowned night heron, keeping a low profile as he secretively and silently inches his way along the shoreline looking for heron food.  This is probably the best look I’ve ever gotten of this bird.

Snow goose.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Pied-billed grebe.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Redhead.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Ring-necked duck.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Vermillion flycatcher.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Black-crowned night heron.
Heart 7 Comment 6
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltI was pleased with this one, alright. They’re a pretty slow moving bird when they’re on the prowl anyway, so it gave me a chance to look for the right moment.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Suzanne GibsonBeautiful detail on this!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonIt’s pretty interesting, isn’t it? I was just focused on the bird of course, but I like the texture of the shore and the tufts of feathers scattered around. And he’s so jowly! He looks like a plush toy.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jen RahnTo Scott AndersonJowly! A superb descriptor.

And I might say that his black feathers look rather like a fancy toupee.

With the toupee, jowliness, and that giant filthy foot, he could be a good character in a Monty Python film.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnA toupee! That’s perfect. And he does look a little like John Cleese, now that you mention it.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

And then, out on the small island in the middle of the lake is one of the species I’ve been hoping to find in town: a neotropic cormorant, a new species for me.  In fact I didn’t even know it was a species until recently.  It’s a Latin American bird that barely makes it north of the Mexican border - it’s one the Grampies could watch for down in the Yucatan.  It’s still listed as just an accidental species in southern Arizona, but maybe climate change is extending the range further north.

There are about ten of them out on the island, all clustered close together slowly flapping their wings.  If they’d been closer in I’d have probably shot a video of it.

#220: Neotropic cormorant
Heart 4 Comment 3
marilyn swettShall we dance?!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo marilyn swettFunny, but it suggested that to me too. Are you two still dancing?
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
marilyn swettTo Scott AndersonYep - we're kind of dancing crazy people! Most weeks we dance almost every day somewhere in the Mesa/Phoenix area. From happy hour dancing on a patio at the several RV resorts to indoor ballroom dancing in the evenings. It's a struggle at times to squeeze out a bike ride or 2!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

After about an hour though I come back to the south end of the lake where I started, and it’s time to move on.  I’ve been out two hours now and have only covered about eight miles - Rachael could have covered this on foot in the same time!  Before going though, let’s have a look at how pretty the lake itself is this morning.  This is earlier than we usually make it down to Tucson, and there’s more color in the foliage.  I suspect it will all brown out soon, so we’d better look while we can.

Mallards on Silverbell Lake.
Heart 3 Comment 1
marilyn swettI love the fall colors which down here happens in the winter.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
At Silverbell Lake.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Actually, this shot is misplaced. It’s from across the Santa Cruz, on my way to Sweetwater.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The next stop is just across the wash at Sweetwater Wetlands, the top birding spot in town.  I’ve been here several times before, and like Silverbell Lake based on today’s experience it’s a place worth waking up early for.  Before we get to the birds though let’s look at how pretty it is here too this morning:

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

There.  That’s done, let’s get back to the birds.  A better birder would see more - especially the warblers and other small birds that I just get a quick glimpse of.  I’m more than pleased with what I do find though, with a few I’m really excited by - especially the immature Cooper’s hawk and night heron, the ladder backed woodpecker and cactus wren.  

American pintail.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Gadwall.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Ladder-backed woodpecker.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Jen RahnFlashy fellow!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnAhem. She might take offense at that. The males have a red toupee.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonWhich answers my question, before I ask it.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Cactus wren.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Jen RahnThis bird makes me smile! This is exactly the round belly I want to see at Christmas time. 🙂

The Pacific Wren has one of my favorite songs, so I looked up the song of the cactus wren.

Definitely an attention-grabber .. and the song of its PNW cousin is more elaborate and melodious.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnYou’re right, it’s not that melodious, but it is easy to recognize. Also, they’re probably twice the size of a pacific wren, so that’s another easy way to distinguish them. That, and that cactus thing.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Keith AdamsGood camouflage! Wrens are such cute little birds.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
American wigeons.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Phainopepla.
Heart 3 Comment 0
An immature Cooper’s hawk, ruffled from preening. Compare this against the photo of the adult up above. It took me awhile to figure out what species this was, it looks so different.
Heart 1 Comment 0
An immature night heron, another bird that looks much different than the adult we just saw.
Heart 5 Comment 0

For me, this has been a fantastic morning.  I’ve gotten a half dozen shots I’m really pleased with and identified 33 different species, which might be the largest single day count I’ve ever accumulated.  In addition to ones shown here there’s an Anna’s hummingbird, Say’s and black Phoebe, mockingbird, blue winged teal, ruddy duck, shoveler, Gambel’s quail and a few others that round out the list. 

I’d been thinking I might take the long way home by biking north and then along Rillito Wash to Mountain for something like a 40 mile day, but it’s nearly noon and I’m out of time.  It’s errand day - I need to get my prescriptions filled at a pharmacy up north and then I’m heading over to the nearby REI to look for new shirts, bike socks and underwear.  So I just head for home, about six miles away.  Almost as soon as I leave Sweetwater though I look across the wash and see a familiar profile rolling south on the bike path on the other side: Kelly!  I race to get ahead of her and then holler across to prompt her to look up.

After I get my shot I start up again, thinking I’ll cross over to her side at Grant and stop for a chat; but I’m not far along when I hear the familiar call of a Gila woodpecker up above and stop for a last bird shot for the day, and by then it’s too late to catch up with her.  Which is fine - we’ll undoubtedly hook up a few times in the days ahead.

Hey Kelly! Over here!
Heart 9 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezHidee ho, yourself! Good eye to see me across the wash. I wasn't even looking.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Gila woodpecker.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 368 miles (592 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Steve Miller/GrampiesWow, what an amazing birding day you had. Thanks for the shout out - guess the early bird really does catch the worm, or photo.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
marilyn swettNice selection of birds on that ride! We've never been to that lake because we usually camp at Catalina SP which makes for a long ride.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesIt was a pretty great day alright. It spoiled me though. I’m not sure I’ll go out birding again for awhile because it won’t be this good.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Jen RahnI love how this post captures the magic of this season and of the early morning.

Thank you for all the ways your careful attention invites your readers to your experience of joy!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Janice BranhamLovely shots of the new murals in Rachael's video. It's great to finally see them without the orange cones lined up in front.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachael AndersonI love this mural! I’m glad I still could use my GoPro. Unfortunately, on Wednesday as I was bringing my bike inside the mount broke. It’s the second mount I broke this year. I’ve ordered some more that I should have by January 2. I can’t wait to see both of you again!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago