Coldest - Winterlude 2023 - CycleBlaze

January 8, 2024

Coldest

At least I hope this is the coldest it will get down here.  It froze last night and will again tonight from all indications, but after this we’re at the start of a too-slow warming trend that should bring us back up to 70 degree days in another week.  We’re both ready.

Hey, it’s my turn to sit by the heater!
Heart 3 Comment 0

It’s sunny but still just in the high thirties by 10, and with warmer days ahead and friends arriving I decide it’s the right time to go shopping and finally get some new socks to replace the ones that were lost or stolen.  I’ve got just enough pride and self respect that I’d at least like my socks to match when we go out for dinner with friends.

Afterwards, as long I’m in the car anyway I stop by Sweetwater on the way home for another pass through.  I’m realizing that one of the things about birding is that persistence pays off.  I’m tending to see around 30-35 birds each time I go here, but so far at least they’re never quite the same set from one day to the next.  There are about twenty that I can almost guarantee I’ll see because they’re common and easy to spot - but beyond that some luck is involved to come home with something new.

Weather conditions are chilly but fair, but I think I’m not quite out here at the best time once again - yesterday I was too early, and today I’m maybe too late.  The parking lot was nearly full when I arrived but was largely empty when I left ninety minutes later, so maybe I’ll aim to get out here around ten next time.

I’ve seen my thirty birds for the morning but haven’t found anything new by the time I’m heading back to the car.  Then there’s a sudden splash and commotion beneath my feet as I’m on the bridge crossing a small creek,  and then a good sized hawk flies up about ten feet in front of me and alights in a nearby tree.  It’s that same immature Cooper’s hawk I’ve seen out here a few times now.

But that’s not new.  What is new for the year is the ladder-backed woodpecker hammering away at a mesquite trunk that I hear and then see soon after.  I’m really pleased by this one, because I’ve only seen one once or twice before and around Tucson is my only chance for the year because they’re not found further north.

#59: Ladder-backed woodpecker
Heart 8 Comment 0

As I walk back to the car I’m wondering if it’s warm enough and there’s still enough day left for me to get out for a short ride when I get home.  Before I get back in the car though I have a last look at the nearby bird feeders wondering if anything new will show up at the last minute.  It’s active enough with doves, towhees, sparrows and goldfinches all hopping and flapping around; but nothing new.  It’s long enough to be standing still in one place with the wind in my face though that by the time I tear away I’m quite chilled and the idea of hopping on the bike later sounds pretty unappealing.  It will be warming up soon enough.  I can wait.

So, 35 birds today, including one new one.  Worth the trip out, and worth culling through the photos for any I particularly like.  I find a few, including a largish turtle I’m sure Bill will be happy to name for me.

Snowy egret, nicely framed and ruffed up from the wind.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Mexican duck.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Black phoebe.
Heart 2 Comment 0
White-crowned sparrow.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sun bather.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltInvasive red eared slider. They were a problem over 50 years ago. They were thick at the Phoenix Zoo clear back in the 1960s.

https://www.azcentral.com/story/news/local/phoenix/2014/05/20/phoenix-zoo-wrestles-unwanted-turtles/2264474/
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
So what is this hanging from this palm tree? At first I thought it was a wasp nest, but there were fifteen or twenty others so it must be part of the tree.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanIt's got to be a wasp nest. Maybe that particular kind of wasp loves that particular kind of tree. Weird shape though.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltIt is indeed a type of paper wasp (family vespidae).

Looks like an abandoned nest. When active, the cells will have a cover with developing juveniles and cells that are open with eggs and small larvae being tended by very protective adults. This time of year, the queen will likely have died off. Be careful though, because sometimes there are a few hanging on and they can be painful to encounter!

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/300635-Polistes-arizonensis/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
4 months ago

I’m nearing the end of the roll when I find a photo that would totally floor me if I weren’t already sitting on the floor by the heater trying to warm up again.  It’s a northern parula, a small warbler that I knew was out here from other reports I’ve seen but that I never really expected to see myself.  It’s another lifetime first, and a particular gift because I had no idea I’d seen one today.  At the time I was just trying to focus on some small bird up in the trees before it disappeared.  Stand still, dammit!  Really, I thought this was just a nice portrait of a mesquite branch until I zoomed in.

#60: Northern parula, another lifer.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraWell. What a handsome bird.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Patrick O'HaraThey are pretty, alright. Maybe I’ll be lucky and get a clearer look someday.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0