Colder - Winterlude 2023 - CycleBlaze

January 7, 2024

Colder

It’s not destined to get up much above the mid-forties today, the coldest day since we arrived three weeks ago.  In theory I could bundle up for a ride, but I’d have to get an early start before the day warms up at all because something big is due to blow through in early afternoon, bringing 20 mph winds with possible gusts to 40.  Neither of us thinks a bike ride makes sense under these conditions.  Later Rachael will get out for a ten mile walk along the Santa Cruz, a repeat of one she took two weeks ago.

For myself though, this feels like the right time to head over to Sweetwater with the car and see it first thing in the morning for a change.  After I finish my first cup of coffee I see out the window that the sky is lightening up and make my move.

Early start today.
Heart 2 Comment 0

It’s pretty quiet when I arrive at Sweetwater Wetlands.  There are only a few cars in the parking lot, a few birders on the trails, and actually not that much evidence of birdlife either.  I think I’m probably out a little early, and most of the birds are still holed up somewhere sleeping it off and trying to keep warm.

And I’m trying to keep warm too, just wearing my short pants because I still haven’t picked up a replacement for my jeans that were stolen.  It really isn’t bad though, and I’m here for a couple of hours making the rounds to all parts of the refuge and looping the main section a second time.  I probably put in three or four miles, walking slowly, stopping frequently, and standing still staring at the water until it’s too cold and it’s time to get moving again.

It’s cold, but it’s a lovely time to be out. And quiet too - there are only a few other birders out this early, and not many birds either. I probably won’t start quite so early next time.
Heart 5 Comment 0
#57: Cinnamon teal
Heart 2 Comment 0
The spotted sandpiper is here again, at almost the exact same spot. I pointed him out to another birder walking by because he was so close to her feet, and she almost jumped.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yellow-rumped warblers are another species I’ve been surprised to see are quite common. I must have seen a dozen of them today.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Sweetwater Wetlands.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Great egret
Heart 2 Comment 1
Keith AdamsNice action shot!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
This apparent bike path is a puzzlement. It’s gated off at the loop end (I got here from the refuge side), but the railing looks new so I wonder if this is the start of a new branch in development. When I look on the map though it just swings by the wastewater treatment plant and then ends at Sweetwater Drive.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Snowy egret.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A last look across the lake before calling it a morning. My hands are getting too cold to hold the camera steady so I might as well move on.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Eventually it’s clear that it’s time to head for home.  Even though there’s considerably more bird activity now, I’ve gotten too cold and it’s getting hard to hold the camera steady.  As I’m driving home though a place catches my eye - Old Times Kafe - and I’m reminded that I haven’t consumed a thing today but that one cup of coffee.  I circle the block and head back, settling in for a heaping order of eggs, home fries and corned beef hash.  And more coffee.

Old Times Kafe is a kind of place I used to like more than I do now because our politics have gotten so polarized.  From the looks of today’s crowd I’d say that everyone else here sits at the opposite end of the spectrum from me.  No one’s talking politics this morning though - it’s all about bowling, and family, and knee surgeries and the like.  They all seem like regulars and have a warm feeling together.  

I’m there about an hour.  When I’m done I check the weather and see that the strong winds and rain have pushed out another hour so there’s time for me to check out Silverbell Lake also as long as I’m warmed up again and out this way with the car.

It’s grey and has a threatening look when I arrive, but it’s fairly calm at the moment.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m out at Sweetwater with a particular bird in mind, hoping to find that night heron working the shoreline that I saw at the end of the year.  He’s not around today, and actually there aren’t that many other birds out today either other than the usuals - tons of coots and grackles and a smattering of others.  And exactly one lesser scaup, which I like today because he’s bird 58 for the year.  I particularly like that because by the time we left Tucson last winter at the end of January I was only up to 57.  So I’m well ahead of last year’s pace.

It’s startling how quickly the weather changes when it comes.  One minute I’m looking across the lake seeing bikers racing by on the Loop and thinking maybe I should have gotten out on the bike today after all.  But then suddenly I feel a cold wind up my back, and when I turn around to look at the Tucson Mountains there’s a dense white cloud bank closing the curtains fast across the front of them.  I’m not the only one with a camera pointed their way, it’s such an interesting spectacle.  But then I rush to the car, along with what looks like almost everyone else in the park.

There’s a brief moment of panic when I can’t find the car, because I’ve mixed up which lot I parked it in.  But then it shows up, and I get in and immediately turn on the heated car seat (thank you, Raven!) and drive for the exit.  I’m held up there by a pair of cars blocking the road, their doors open and both of the drivers outside wrestling with the gate that blocks park access at night.  It looks like they’re trying to tie it down, so I think it must have been blowing across the road and trapping them inside.

So no, I don’t think I’d have liked being out on the bike much today, I’m thinking as I drive south dodging a few tumbleweeds bouncing up the road toward me.  I’ve done the right thing here this time.

Every time I’ve come to Silverbell Lake this winter there’s this one snow goose here. He’s the only one, and he likes to hang out with a pair of domestic white geese. He must have taken a wrong turn somewhere on his way south this year.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Canvasback.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It’s really a great day for watching the sky.
Heart 5 Comment 3
Rich FrasierWhy am I thinking that looks like a Georgia O'Keeffe sky? Beautiful shot!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kelly IniguezYes! I’ve taken so many cloud photos here. Living in the mountains is great, but there’s something about feeling the full expression of the sky.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Rich FrasierThanks, Rich. I was really pleased that it came out as I saw it.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
We just saw this species, but I liked the look of this one on the blue railing.
Heart 4 Comment 0
#58: Lesser scaup
Heart 2 Comment 0
Suddenly, it’s time to go home. One minute it’s calm, and the next the wind builds up strong enough to kick up sand and mobilize tumbleweeds.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This would be better as a video, showing the wind patterns raising ripples that race across the water.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 0