Some Call It A Shakedown Ride - Me & The U.P. - CycleBlaze

April 13, 2024

Some Call It A Shakedown Ride

The Introductory Pages Keep Coming

Never before have I done a shakedown ride in preparation for a bicycle tour.  I never thought I needed one.  That's because my bike always worked nicely on my daily day rides, therefore, naturally, I was pretty sure it would continue to do so on my tours.  

Also, I never needed any extra practice riding with a loaded bike because, for more than two decades now, I've been carrying loads of meat, fruits, vegetables, canned foods, milk, beer, etc. in my panniers at least a couple times per week.

Another also, thanks to my year-round cycling and cross-training--activities like shooting hoops, snow shoveling, dog walking, high speed lawn mowing, and constantly running up and down the stairs from the Greg Room to the kitchen and back--I generally believed I was in decent physical shape to conduct a bike tour.

And I always know what gear to bring.  It will mostly be the same old gear I carry on every tour, which is also the same old gear I used to bring on backpacking trips for so many years.  Almost everything I need for a tour, which isn't much, is packed away in a big box.

In other words, I've got it all down pat.  Tour preparation has always been easy for a dude like me who has never ventured beyond North America, and I have the same cocky self-assuredness for this trip.  Ergo, this page isn't REALLY about a shakedown ride.  I prefer to call it "A Fun Overnight Bike Ride That Just Happens To Precede An Upcoming Bike Tour.

************

Two days ago, I saw some nice weather ahead.  I said to myself, "maybe I should take advantage of the unusual 70-degree temperatures and go for an overnight bike ride.  The next day, yesterday, I said to Son of Bing Bong (my bike), "let's do this."  Then I went to the highest authority and presented my plan to The Feeshko.  She approved.  In fact, she approved so quickly that I suspect she was looking forward to getting rid of me for 24 hours or so.  Less than an hour after she approved, I turned my left ankle and fell to the floor while running down the stairs from the kitchen to the Greg Room.

My ankle had pain all night, but it felt better this morning.  There was far less swelling and bruising than I expected.  I walked with a little trouble, but rode my bike with no trouble at all.  As far as I'm concerned, the overnight trip is still on.  It begins tomorrow. 

No biggie
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMine that I got in college and took 10 or more years to heal completely looked similar, but a little less to the side.

I hate when that happens!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rachael AndersonSorry you twisted your ankle!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
I got this brace last time I sprained my ankle. It works great. I used it today, and I'll use it again tomorrow on my fun overnight ride.
Heart 1 Comment 6
Steve Miller/GrampiesLooks like a good idea.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterLooks just like the brace that took me thru Puglia a couple of years ago. Should work well
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Susan CarpenterI'm back from my overnight trip now and it DID work well. Ive been following your doctor's advice and wear the brace day and night. Even in bed.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Susan CarpenterTo Gregory GarceauGreat news! As you experienced, it was especially helpful when getting off the bike on unstable ground
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Rachael AndersonThat sure wouldn’t work with clipless pedals!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonI quit wearing clipless shoes for touring a few years ago, but the brace would still work. It's not the kind of brace that clamps around the bottom of your shoe. It goes around the bottom of your foot, so you can slip into any shoe as long as the shoe is wide enough. Keep that in mind if you ever sprain your ankle . . . which I hope never happens.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago

Other than my Bluetooth speaker and my beloved smart phone, I won't be carrying electronics on my overnight trip.  I won't be posting a live action journal.   For me, that means less encumbered riding.  For you, that means the unbearable suspense of waiting a couple of days to read about what happened. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Nancy GrahamLooks like you got it covered, and I am surely glad it did not end up worse!! Last year Susan (my partner) slipped on a one step into the garage and severely broke her ankle!!! I am happy that did not happen to you. And - I will be on the edge of my seat until you get back and post about this trip!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretDON’T “break a leg”…
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Halûk Okur"In fact, she approved so quickly that I suspect she was looking forward to getting rid of me for 24 hours or so. "

Such a familiar feeling... :D
Reply to this comment
1 month ago