Inward Bound - Me & The U.P. - CycleBlaze

April 15, 2024

Inward Bound

The sun sure took it's time warming up the campground.  One would think that big fireball would be more sympathetic considering I took a hike specifically to honor its rise from beneath the horizon.  But OHHH NO, not today!  It was still a breezy 40-degrees, and I was wearing all three long-sleeved shirts, my rain jacket, my long underwear, my woolen cap, and my warm gloves an hour after I got back to my site. 

It was okay, though.  I warmed myself with another cup of coffee and more jumping jacks.  Actually, the jumping jacks were more like bouncing up and down on my toes without the swinging of arms and legs.  I took my time packing up my gear.  The songbirds seemed to be in no hurry, so why should I? 

Eventually, the air warmed up to about 50-degrees.  I called that an acceptable temperature for loading up the bike and getting back on the gravelly park trails. 

I decided to take the back way out of the state park rather than attempt to squeeze my brakes all the way down that steep, mile long trail I came up on.  I complimented myself on that decision once I exited the park and hit pavement.  I also decided to take a different route home.

The first two miles took me past a mix of prairie, farms, and big homes on large lots.  I believe those large lots are called "acreages" in such neighborhoods.  I saw a modest teepee too, but I suspect it wasn't a real native American dwelling.  More likely it was a seldom-used retreat for the owners of this acreage.

Or maybe it's used as a garage for bicycles?
Heart 4 Comment 0

It was a pleasant ride, made even more pleasant by a tailwind.  The wind was only half the speed of yesterday's headwind . . . but . . . still . . . 

The first half of the ride had a couple of decent sized hills (by Midwest standards) and plenty of rollers.  You'll see some of those hills in the next few photos.  Of course, I didn't take any pictures of the flat parts.  They'd be too boring.  

Heart 1 Comment 3
Karen PoretFlat parts are NOT boring, Greg! Especially in the Netherlands …
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Karen PoretTrue, and I should clarify that I personally don't believe flat roads are boring. I ride them all the time with much satisfaction, but I've noticed that most bike bloggers post road pictures that include hills, so I simply joined in.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretTo Gregory GarceauAw, shucks., u.p. folks are hill and dalers.. ;)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Emily SharpA bit of IA in MN :-)
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

I also took pictures of some other curiosities.  They might not spark anyone else's curiosity but, to this dude who doesn't stop for a whole lot of pictures, they were picture worthy enough.   

I truly appreciate the minimalist "Tiny House" movement, but there is no way The Feeshko and I could live here for the rest of our lives.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Karen PoretOh, I thought the photo importance was of the number 7390 ;)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Emily SharpI could certainly live in something that small forever, but maybe not quiet that design. Despite the big front door, it seems it would be very dark inside. I think I'd rather hang in my tent!
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
That's one big nest. The Feeshko and I couldn't live here either, but I'm sure it's quite comfortable for an eagle family.
Heart 3 Comment 0
An apple farm
Heart 1 Comment 0
You cannot get much more beautifully bucolic than that setting.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I don't need any help in identifying this hairy sloth worm.
Heart 2 Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltBut what does it say about winter? I've heard tell they know...
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Bill ShaneyfeltI've never seen a wooly bear in the spring before. I think the ones that crawl in the fall might be more attuned to winter weather prospects.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Gregory GarceauFunny thing about them... I took pictures of every one I came across for years. Most were late fall and early winter, but some in springtime too.

Their color bands varied "widely" even when I found 5 or 6 in one day. So much for the reliability of any individual's ability to forecast severe or mild winters. Still fun to say, "Oh look! This one says it will be a short, late winter.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretTo Bill ShaneyfeltSmall versions of Punxsutawney Phil? :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Roadside litter. If you could see my face, you'd see tears running down my cheeks. [Old TV ad reference]
Heart 2 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltWhy I carry a plastic grocery bag... They can hold a lot of litter. Or wild edibles.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Kathleen JonesThat’s right, Chief.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Karen PoretAnd why my husband hates to walk with me..Most people let their dog go “ off leash”, and I go “off to pick up trash”…
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kathleen JonesOf all the Cycleblazers, somehow I knew YOU would be one to pick up on that reference. Thank you.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsIron Eyes Cody, IIRC. I definitely recognize the reference and remember the PSA.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago

I was home 20 minutes after crying about the litter.  I reflected on how much fun I had on my little overnight bike trip.  I've been riding my bike all winter, but this was the first time I've been out on the highways.  I feel rejuvenated.

And I thought about how awesome 24-hours with no human contact can be.  No road angels, no annoying questions, no praise, no petty conversations, just me and my thoughts.  (An admission:  I did say "hello" to several hikers in the state park, but nothing more than that.)

I recalled the very unusual wildlife I saw, and that doesn't even mention the wildlife I HEARD while in my tent.  (Owls hooting in the night, coyotes howling and wild turkeys gobbling in the early morning.)  I didn't see any bears and mooses, but that's probably because The Church of the Great Outdoors is saving those animals for my main trip to the U.P.  I can't wait to get there.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 18 miles (29 km)
Total: 38 miles (61 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Adam ZamoraNice to see you on the road again. It makes me want to get out on my own. It's the first Bridge Lift in Chicago this coming weekend, I'm tentatively hoping to get down there.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Gregory GarceauTo Adam ZamoraI just looked up the significance of the first Bridge Lift of the year in Chicago. It looks like fun.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Keith AdamsI thought of you as I navigated a strtch of gravel road today. " bet Greg Garceau would love this."

I also thought about the solitude I feel when touring alone. Although I had a few more interpersonal exchanges there were plenty of hours available for rumination and reflection.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith AdamsI do like a little gravel to change things up a bit but, like most people, I appreciate getting back to pavement for the relief on my hands and head. In the same way, while I surely enjoy solitude, after a week or two of it, I appreciate getting back to friends, family, and/or other people.
Reply to this comment
4 weeks ago
Emily SharpI look forward to the U.P. adventure whenever it happens. Yes, a perfect day on the road for me involves speaking to no one. When I can string several days of that together... even better. If I knew my family were ok somehow, I think I could easily do 6 weeks of solitude, maybe more. I love the TV series ALONE (not the American or English versions, but the Aussie and northern European ones). I'd have to 'tap out' because I'd starve since I don't have fishing or trapping skills. But most people 'tap out' because they miss family/friends. Well, I only see my family once a year anyway, and I know my friends will still be there in a month, two or three... so I think I would kill it on the mental/emotional side of that challenge.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago
Gregory GarceauTo Emily SharpYou are my hero/role model when it comes to outdoor solitude. I can do it for a few days, maybe even a week. But two weeks or more would be too much. On the other hand, if I could keep my cell phone charged for that long, I'd be willing to give it a try.
Reply to this comment
3 weeks ago