Zoom, zoom - An American Summer, 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 2, 2023

Zoom, zoom

Hooray!  A normal, mundane day with no drama to speak of.  We both needed that.  Before yesterday’s foobar fiasco, Rachael and I had planned to get up early, take a ride together in the foothills somewhere, and end up on the south waterfront for lunch.  Today though I’m just not into it and need a snoozer so she zooms off on another 48 miler out to Chinook Landing, and I enjoy a lazy cruise along the Willamette with the new zoom camera hoping to add something new to the bird list.  I’d better get going on that one - at the slow rate I’m progressing I won’t break 200.

A late photo, taken in Sellwood when we drove over to pick up the bicycles. I kept Rachael standing around in the hot sun while I shot it, so I might as well paste it in.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the Hawthorne Bridge, I pause to check out the Blues Festival that just started today. Not much of a crowd yet, but then the place is still warming up.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Rich FrasierSerious homesickness now. You're torturing me!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Rich FrasierThat was pretty insensitive, alright. We’ll post some photos of tent camps soon, which should help.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
So is every day going to look like this here now?
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith AdamsIf I remember right last year May and June were wet, wet, wet and then about 3/4 of the way through June poof! just like someone had flipped a switch the clouds disappeared and it was clear and dry for quite a while. I was the beneficiary of the change, having set off on 2 July for my abortive trip home.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
The Ross Island cement plant has been shut down for several years now and is gradually wasting away. I wonder if we’ll see this turn green in my lifetime.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not green yet, but definitely getting more colorful.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s a profusion of northwest native inspired art work on the pillars here, some of pretty high quality like this one. I know that’s a raven at the bottom, but what about the top figure - a sculpin?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Frustrating that I have to relearn every summer that this is spirea.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraAlso known as hardhack!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Patrick O'HaraHardhack! I’ve never heard that. What an odd name.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
I find the usual suspects clustered around the tadpole pond at Oaks Bottom, but nothing new today. This is likely the same downy woodpecker I spotted here in February.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Also spotted: this spotted towhee.
Heart 3 Comment 0
#162: Glaucous-winged gull. At least I think it’s that and not a Western.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltGulls... galls me trying to figure out the minuscule differences...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
There’s an odd exotic animal clustering at the corner of 17th and Upshur. On the south side, a gorilla keeps an eye on the traffic.
Heart 2 Comment 0
And on the opposite side of the street a wall-sized bighorn sheep looks on.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We enjoy a pleasant outdoor meal at El Toro, celebrating the fact that I haven’t lost my glasses or wallet recently.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesYes, the glasses are right there!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
As promised, here’s a look at Rachael’s new favorite dish: pistachio chicken enchiladas.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Bill Shaneyfelt... Interesting visual...
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
ann and steve maher-wearyLove to know how the pistachio sauce is made.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo ann and steve maher-wearyTheir website just describes it as a pistachio mole verde, so presumably it’s some secret family recipe starting with pistachios and green moles.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

____________________

2023 Bird List

     162.  Glaucous-winged gull

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 465 miles (748 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0