Independence Day - An American Summer, 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 4, 2023

Independence Day

For Independence Day we decide to flip the script: Rachael goes off by herself to Oregon City on her bike, while I take a hike for the first time in awhile - since returning to Portland, really.

We didn’t exactly reverse the usual script though, which is that I take a modest bike ride while Rocky tackles a ridiculously long hike at nights speed.  Today, she kept a fast pace while somehow stretching a 32 mile ride into 45; while I took my sweet time walking eight miles in somewhere between three and four hours.

Whatever.  It’s the beginning of a hopefully brief heat wave and the day is supposed to top out at 100, so we both get an early start.  Rachael’s out the door by eight, and I leave about 20 minutes later.  My walk plan is a nine mile loop up into the west hills: through the Alphabet Blocks to Lower Macleay Park and the entrance to the Balch Creek Trail; up Balch Creek to its junction with the Wildwood Trail; follow the Wildwood past Pittock Mansion and the new Barbara Walker footbridge across Burnside, and then down through Washington Park past the Rose Garden.

My main goal of course is to keep an eye out for the birds, but besides that I especially want to see the colorful bridge across Burnside again and take a few photos, since Rachael for some reason didn’t post any from her walk up there last week.

I take my time walking through the neighborhoods, stopping for a shot of flowers here and there as well as for a good look at a huge oak ahead at the corner of 23rd and Overton.  It should be a heritage tree I think, and I’m right: there’s a plaque on it describing it as an Oregon white oak.  It’s heritage tree number 10, one of the first registered in the program.  I’ve probably seen it before, and could confirm it if I took the time to wade through the posts from my Heritage Tree Quest from a few years back.

That’s a mighty big tree ahead.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Older than Oregon! I wonder what it was called before Oregon was a thing.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanWell, the Multnomah tribe lived in the area where this oak tree still lives. The Multnomah were a tribe of the Chinook peoples and the Chinook word for oak was kull stick.
I know this oak and it's the most majestic tree I know of in NW Portland. Notice the screws holding the plaque. Eventually all the Heritage Tree plaques will be replaced with ones with springs like this one. They allow the tree to grow without restriction and the plaque can move correspondingly without digging into the bark. A great improvement!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

None of the other shots along Overton made today’s final cut except for this one, because it tickled me to realize I’m looking at an Overton Window.  I took it because of the flowers, but then spent the rest of the walk wondering if I was right in remembering the name for the term.

An Overton window.
Heart 2 Comment 3
Bruce LellmanIf one considers these flowers as fake, which I think they are, I wonder where each of us falls on the six degrees of acceptance in terms of the Overton Window theory of public ideas:
Radical
Unthinkable
Acceptance
Sensible
Popular
Policy
Since we have no control over someone attaching fake flowers to their building we kind of have to accept it.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanYou think? That didn’t occur to me but I think you’re probably right based on their uniformity. Unthinkable! That’s the kind of thing you expect in budget motel rooms, not in NW Portland.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith AdamsWell that went in directions I could never have anticipated, as I was ignorant of the concept until I followed the link. Nice touch that it also coincides with the street name.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

When I come to Lower Macleay Park I take a few minutes to admire the Balch Gulch Bridge that spans Balch Creek here.  Built during the 1905 Lewis and Clark Centennial Exposition and World’s Trade Fair as a gateway to Portland’s developing Willamette Heights neighborhood, it’s the oldest intact bridge in the region.  The bridge was badly deteriorating when it was rehabilitated nine years ago, but I miss the character of the way it was before then with its slimy wooden plank sidewalk and rotting, moss encrusted  concrete posts.

The renovated Balch Gulch Bridge.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The bridge uses a rare pin-connected deck truss design. I don’t remember seeing another bridge quite like it.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The shady, damp Balch Creek trail is always a delightful place for a walk and it’s the perfect place to be on a too hot full sun day.  I’m not the only one with the brainstorm to think of this though, and the trail doesn’t have its usual secluded feel as trail runners regularly trot past, making a racket and scaring off any birds that might be around.  Still, a great place to walk.

Oregon grape, morning glory and cottonwood fluff: a fitting alter piece for the Church of the Great Outdoors.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Western maidenhair fern, I think?
Heart 4 Comment 1
Another heritage tree, a soaring Douglas Fir. It’s so wonderful to have a haven like this just a few blocks from town. Thanks for the legacy, Olmsted Brothers!
Heart 2 Comment 0
X marks the spot.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Stone House gets more colorful every time I pass by.
Heart 4 Comment 0
On the Balch Creek Trail.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I haven’t seen any birds up close enough to get a real look at, though I hear some interesting sounds high up in the canopy.  Then a walker headed downstream alerts me that there’s an owl across the creek just ahead.  Excited but anxious I’ll miss it, I walk quickly but keep a constant eye across the creek hoping to see it before it flies off.

I know I’ve found it though when I come to a clutch of walkers staring across the creek with their cameras and binoculars out.  It’s like seeing a moose in Yellowstone - you can find them by looking for the assembled crowds they’ve attracted.

It’s magnificent, and easily the highlight of the day.  It’s a barred owl perched atop a snag, looking like he’s a part of it.  He’s trying to sleep, but he keeps being buzzed by a pair of robins that would like him to take his nap elsewhere.  Wonderful - I’ve never seen a barred owl in the wild, and didn’t really expect ever to.

#163: Barred owl
Heart 11 Comment 4
Patrick O'HaraWhat a great find. I saw one recently in Pacific Spirit Park out by UBC! Incredible bird.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
marilyn swettAmazing picture!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo marilyn swettPure luck, but the highlight of the week for me.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Keith AdamsWe have them around here, in numbers sufficient that it's not uncommon to hear them from time to time. A few years back one swooped up and landed on the rear spoiler of my car, pausing just long enough to soil the back window before flying off. We managed to catch a photo of it before it left.

Some years earlier a barred owl caused a similar ruckus among the smaller birds when it lit on a tree branch in our back yard. All the little birds got quite agitated and erupted into a chorus of "Stranger! Danger! Stranger! Danger!" and harassed it until it moved along.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
He’d stay asleep I think if those pesky robins didn’t buzz right past his face.
Heart 7 Comment 0

A short distance later the trail intersects the Wildwood Trail, and soon it crosses Cornell and continues climbing but more steeply now up the opposite side of the gulch.

On the Wildwood Trail.
Heart 2 Comment 0
On the Wildwood Trail.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith AdamsEvidence of bear activity?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

On a day like this, it’s no surprise that there’s a crowd assembled at Pittock Mansion, where the walk reaches its apex.  They’re lined up taking in the expansive views to the east or admiring the mansion itself or taking their time walking along the manicured gardens.  It really is a special spot and even on a quiet weekday there’s someone up here, so it’s to be expected.  

What does surprise me though is the sky to the east, with the valleys blanketed in what looks like smoke.  I hadn’t heard that there was a fire around, but there’s a significant one east of the gorge across the river from Hood River that just broke out two days ago.  My first thought on seeing this is for the Branhams, who I know are biking this way down the gorge.  Later I’ll read today’s post and see they’ve got a ringside seat for the firefighting activities just across the river from them.  Hopefully their last stage of the tour isn’t too smoky tomorrow.

The mansion.
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s an east wind blowing smoke in from the fire to the east today.
Heart 5 Comment 2
marilyn swettIs that smoke from the fire along the Columbia River in Washington? We plan to be in that area later this summer and hope that wildfire smoke won't be an issue in Seattle of further south in Oregon.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo marilyn swettYes. It’s from the Tunnel 5 Fire, that just started a few days ago. There’s no telling what the smoke situation is likely to be later this summer, but it wouldn’t be surprising if it’s an issue. We’re up in Seattle tody and there’s smoke to the northeast from a different fire.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

I take my time staring at the views before moving on.  When I do, I’m transfixed by one spectacular exotic flower after another along the walkway.

Yellow loosestrife.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Scarlet bee balm, a species of Bergamot.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A wild leek. Nice hat!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Eringiym alpinum, aka Alpine sea holly and Queen of the Alps. What an astonishing color!
Heart 8 Comment 0

Leaving the mansion’s grounds I forget the plan for the day and just start walking down the hill toward town, weaving through the complicated maze of streets nd checking the map regularly to make sure I’m not losing my way and steering myself into a dead end.  As I walk, a few bikers pass me climbing to the top, reminding me of the times I’ve done this climb myself and leaving me hoping it’s one I’ll be able to do gain someday.

What I’ve forgotten though is that I was supposed to bike further along the Wildwood Trail and have a look at the bridge across Burnside.  I remember this about three blocks to the summit, but by then I feel committed.  The day’s warming up, and even with the shelter of my red hat it’s starting to feel warm enough that it seems smarter to just keep dropping and get back to the apartment.

Hazy to the north too. Not so hazy that we can’t see Rainier over it’s shoulder though, which I hadn’t noticed until captioning this.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A lesser goldfinch? Probably.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just a song sparrow, I think. This one’s a little different though, with a deformed beak that’s a little crossed-over. We saw a grackle like this in Boulder City a few years back too. Is this a common bird deformity?
Heart 1 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe would see it frequently in our chicken flock. It might be caused by a genetic uneven growth on the upper and lower parts of the beak, an injury or the bird not honing its beak adequately. There are apparently also a few bird species that have developed a crossed beak as a regular genetic adaptation to their specific environment. Thanks quick google search.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Minnie Opal heads an “eco-conscious clothing and accessory company”. I’ve got my red hat, so I feel pretty well accessorized already and just walk on.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Magnolia.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A third heritage tree! This one’s a Dutch elm, on Johnson Street.
Heart 1 Comment 0

____________________

2023 Bird List

     162.  Glaucous-winged gull

____________________

2023 Bird List

     163.  Barred owl

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltGreat nature photos today! Especially, of course the owl!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kelly IniguezI'd say nine miles is a pretty ambitious walk for the first time in how long? Good for you!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltI was so thrilled by the owl. Good thing I had the right camera along!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago