In Penticton: White Lake Grasslands - An American Summer, 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 14, 2023

In Penticton: White Lake Grasslands

Thanks go again to Jacquie and Al, who steered me toward today’s ride - especially Al, who bikes often over here and sounds knowledgeable about all the cycling roads around Penticton.

I’m riding solo today, with Rachael deciding she’s way overdue for a good long hike in the hills.  She’s sick of sitting in the car anyway, and today’s ride requires a short drive.  I’m off to the roads around the White Lake Grasslands Protected Area, about twenty miles southwest of town up on the plateau above Okanagan Falls.  I get an early start, leaving about 7:30 after coffee and a light breakfast in our motel room.  Rachael leaves for her walk at about the same time, both of us wanting to get our outing in before the day heats up too much.

Okanagan Lake this morning. There’s just a bit of haze, or maybe it’s smoke drifting in from a fire somewhere.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It’s a fast drive south to Okanagan Falls down the west side of Skaha Lake  on Highway 97 as it rises high above the water on the face of whatever this dramatic formation is before dropping steeply down again.  If it weren’t for all the traffic it looks like it would be a fine bike ride, but even with an abundant shoulder it’s really too busy to be enjoyable.  Going south on the Eastside Road as we did yesterday is vastly better, and I imagine the KVR (Kettle Valley Rail Trail) must be best of all, on the right bike.

Just before Okanagan Falls I turn off onto Green Lake Road, leave all the traffic behind, and start climbing.  Right away I know I’m going to like this country, as a pair of California quail scramble across the road just ahead of me.  My plan is to drive up to Green Lake at the top of this climb and park there, avoiding a climb I probably shouldn’t be attempting under the circumstances.

There’s nowhere to park at Green Lake though so I continue on another mile to Mahoney Lake, find find a spot there, and start unloading the bike.

Mahoney Lake.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I’ve mapped out a sort of Y-shaped route for myself.  It starts by biking a few miles to Willowbrook and then taking the right branch northwest past White Lake to the high point before the road starts dropping off the other side toward Highway 3A.  It would be a reasonable ride to make a loop by continuing on this way and following 3A east to 97 and then south up Green Lake Road.  That’s not the plan for today though.  It’s more highway riding than I want, and probably more vertical work than my cardiologist would recommend.

Instead, I’m happy to stare west over the edge and then turn around and sail back to Willowdale through the same gorgeous country I just climbed up through.  On the way down I spend a long time staring up at a western kingbird, impatiently scolding me and urging me to get off his lawn.

Looking back at Mahoney Lake.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I was surprised to learn that there are plans to establish a new national park reserve in the south Okanagan. From the many signs like this one I passed today, the local sentiment seems pretty clear.
Heart 1 Comment 0
North west of Willowbrook, climbing up Fairview White Lake Road.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Andrea BrownMy goodness, the tree assortment (depending on which side of the slope they're on) is identical to my hometown in Montana, this could be Highway 2 between Libby and Kalispell, with the occasional rock outcropping and hayfield. It gave me a startle.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
In the White Lake Grassland Protected Area. That grayish spot to the right is White Lake.
Heart 2 Comment 0
North of White Lake.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanNorth of White Lake is Black Cow. At least that's what I've herd.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Climbing away from White Lake.
Heart 4 Comment 0
In the White Lake Grassland Protected Area.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Keith AdamsSage. scrub, hills, cloudless blue skies... there's nothing like the west for scenery.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
A Western kingbird. We saw an eastern kingbird yesterday, and there was another of those on the wire not far from this. We’re in one of the regions of the continent where the ranges of the two birds overlap.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Descending back through the grasslands. The diversity of the landscapes in the southern BC interior is really remarkable.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Andrea BrownI love that area, and totally agree on the diversity, wow.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
#169: Mountain bluebird
Heart 6 Comment 4
Andrea BrownNow this feels like a real score.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownI felt the same way. I was watching this bird fly out and back from the wire for several minutes hoping he’d get close enough for a good shot. Lucky.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bruce LellmanWhen I was a kid I saw bluebirds in Minnesota but then, later, I never saw them again. I guess they were not mountain bluebirds in MN. I don't know if DDT did them in or what happened and I have not kept up on whether there are more of them now or not. Such a beautiful blue.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanGood assumption that they weren’t Mountain bluebirds. They would have been eastern bluebirds, which are more or less identical to the western bluebirds we see on this side of the country.

It’s not DDT (which mostly affected birds at the top of the pyramid like bald eagles and osprey because it concentrated there and affected their calcium metabolism, resulting in brittle eggshells)

The problem with bluebirds is habitat loss and species competition. They nest in cavities, such as holes drilled out of snags by woodpeckers. There are fewer nesting sites, and they tend to lose out to more assertive species. They’re definitely making a comeback though, because of campaigns to erect birdhouses with the right size holes that larger birds can’t fit into. The bird here was nesting in one. Once you start watching for them in the right type of country, they’re getting fairly common.

You could see them yourself if you took a jaunt up to Bickleton this summer before they fly south. The village bills itself as the Bluebird Capitol of the World: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/pdxbriefbreaks/the-bickleton-loop/#2772_326c0193a47b3f98f2ea58c9fbf79ac6
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
So what’s this then?
Heart 1 Comment 2
Keith AdamsPossibly a disused and abandoned feed or manure spreader?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Keith AdamsMy thoughts too...
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Dominion Radio Astrophysical Observatory (DRAO), a research facility that merits at least a brief explanation. Instead, you’re just getting a photo and its name in case you want to know more.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Back at Willowbrook, I head south toward Fairview on Willowbrook Road on the other leg of my Y-shaped route.  The idea is exactly the same here - I gradually climb until I reach the high point on the road, look down the other side, and then turn around and coast back.  It’s not that I’m lazy and want to avoid some extra work.  I could keep going and drop down to Fairview or even so far as Oliver and then climb back up again, but I like the symmetry of following the same model as I did along the White Lake leg.

I don’t know what this little pond is. It doesn’t merit a name on the map. It’s a nice little wetland though, with a pied billed grebe and a family of coots floating around on it.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Well look at this! Just yesterday I was regretting not getting a complete look at a cedar waxwing, and now I’ve got two!
Heart 10 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanThey are really beautifully designed birds!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanAren’t they though? This was really a lucky shot seeing them posed side by side like this.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Dropping back toward Willowbrook and on to the car.
Heart 3 Comment 0
In Willowbrook. This must be the longest row of weeping willows I’ve ever seen.
Heart 3 Comment 0

It’s after one when I make it back to the car, and heating up enough that I’m glad to be getting off the road.  I’m not particularly happy about getting into the car though, which is an oven after sitting in the full sun for the last three hours.  I roll down all the windows and sit carefully on the seat, pulling my shorts down a bit so my bare legs won’t get seared by it.

Rachael’s been back about a half hour when I return, excited about her hike and the terrific views she enjoyed and anxious to share her photos.  I’m sure she’ll share them with you too when she gets around to it.

A shot from the car, looking ahead to the trop to Okanagan Falls.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

____________________

2023 Bird List

     169. Mountain bluebird

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 708 miles (1,139 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Jacquie GaudetYou definitely caught the highlights of one of my two favourite routes from Penticton! Here's a longer version: https://www.cycleblaze.com/journals/cabinfever/the-colours-loop/ followed in that journal by my other fave.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetI think I missed this journal. If we’re ever in the country in early fall I’d love to come back up then. It looks like a really spectacular time to visit.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Gregory GarceauEverybody loves national parks with big mountains, but I've found large expanses of well-preserved grasslands to be equally beautiful. I appreciated this post a lot.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago