In Astoria: Youngs River Road - An American Summer, 2023 - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2023

In Astoria: Youngs River Road

I think it must be time to end this thing.  It’s been three days now since I took this solo out and back ride along the Young’s River while Rachael further tested her fast-healing knee with a 13 mile walk; and even though I’ve been eager to share some of these photos - especially the goldfinch - I keep putting off writing up the day.  There are multiple reasons for this, but it’s just the usual sort of stuff really: it’s too hot, we’ve had social engagements, I keep forgetting to get photos from Rachael’s phone so we can include her walk, Trump’s been indicted for a fourth time, blah, blah, blah.

None of this quite adds up though.  I’ve had the time available but the truth is that my mind’s moved on.  We leave for Spain in less than three weeks, and I’m increasingly thinking about what needs to happen between now and then.  And bizarrely enough I’m finding myself spending a lot of time plotting out ideas for next year’s nine-month tour that we’ve started discussing, assuming of course that my ablation surgery is successful and has the desired result.  

And there’s that upcoming surgery to occupy my thoughts too, as well as my arrhythmias.  I had another minor episode last week, on the very day that Rachael and I were noting that it had been three weeks since the last one.  It holds me back, and discourages me from taking on any really interesting rides other than the regular set of flattish ones in town here.  

And, of course, I’m anxious to show you what the plan is for this fall - yeah, it’s in Spain of course; but where exactly?  But that’s a topic for the next chapter of the saga, not this one.

So we’ll stop here, although there will probably be one more entry to include Rachael’s hike photos once I finally get hold of them.  And maybe there will be some sort of wrap-up/post mortem post, if the mood strikes me.  Or not.  We’ll see.  

Now where was I on that plan for next fall?  Oh, that’s right - disembarking from the ferry from Harwich at the Hook of Holland.

The same three ships we saw last night. Still a bit foggy this morning.
Heart 5 Comment 0
An unmistakeable bridge.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I’ve been really surprised by how often we’re seeing these birds. First Kennewick, then The Dalles, and now here. The range maps don’t show them ever reaching the coast here, but it’s a recent development in just the last decade or so. The main theory is an adjustment due to climate change as their interior habitats dry out.
Heart 1 Comment 0
On Wireless Road.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The starlings don’t seem to mind, though they are giving him an respectful amount of space.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Saddle Mountain.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some old wheels. Fencing materials?
Heart 6 Comment 4
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen JonesNo, goofball! Not that kind of fencing.

We’ll be driving through your neighborhood again on our way to Tucson this winter, btw. If you and BJ are around it would be great to meet again.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathleen JonesTo Scott AndersonDoh! How silly of me. You meant cycl(on)e fencing.

Yes, we should be around. And most likely this time we’ll eat indoors and not force your repaired ticker to pump extra hard to keep up your core body temp.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonCyclone fencing! Touché!

I’m looking forward to an elevated heart rate, actually. It’s been clunking along in the low thirties for most of the last year, and I’m really wondering what life will be like with a more normal pulse again.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bug and barn.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another yellow warbler?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Honeysuckle tractor.
Heart 3 Comment 0
This beautiful creature was oblivious to my presence, furiously ripping his thistle head to shreds.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Blue house.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Don’t jump!
Heart 2 Comment 0
I’ve been tracking this barn on Young’s Bay Road for probably twenty years now. It’s aging better than I am, I’d say.
Heart 1 Comment 0
#181: Violet-green swallow
Heart 3 Comment 0
Gulls and the Astoria Column. It tickles me to learn that a congregation of gulls like this is called a squabble, among other terms.
Heart 1 Comment 0
#182: Herring gulls, recognizable by their physical characteristics as well as their behavior. They gather in large numbers on rooftops and open fields as a defensive mechanism against predators.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanAnd here I always thought a seagull was a seagull.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bruce LellmanYou obviously haven’t read Tinbergen’s classic “The Herring Gull’s World”. Highly recommended.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Many gulls, some vultures, a few crows.
Heart 3 Comment 1
Getting a birds-eye view of Young’s Bay.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Every time I see this bridge, almost four miles long, I recall biking across it over fifty years ago with my friend Alan on a ride from Bellingham to Salem.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

____________________

2023 Bird List

     181. Violet-green swallow

     182. Herring gull 

Today's ride: 34 miles (55 km)
Total: 1,290 miles (2,076 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Tricia GrahamVery good luck with your ablation surgery. I hope it is as great a success as mine was 14 years ago then never another incident
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Robyn RichardsI'm looking forward to the next Anderson European adventure!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Carolyn van HoeveLooking forward to Spain TA! Knee sounds like it will be back to fully functional!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago