So where are those Branhams, anyway? - Falling Through Spain - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2023

So where are those Branhams, anyway?

This tour has been outstanding overall, but a disappointment meetup-wise.  We did manage to cross paths with our friends Ken and Judy in Tudela; but the Fenwicks were too late getting to Bilbao as were the Grampies in Valencia.  Fortunately the Branhams came through for us on the very last day, rolling off the ferry from Palma late yesterday afternoon.

We’ve seen this meet-up coming for quite a while, and a few days ago Janice and I settled on a rendezvous at 4:30 at the Turia Fountain in the Plaça de la Verge adjacent to the cathedral.  There was some confusion about the timing though this morning when Rachael asked when we were meeting so we could plan out the day.  I told her 5:30, misremembering the agreement we had with Janice.  Fortunately she went through our emails and found the one establishing the meeting time.  It’s 4:30, she corrects me with a rather chastising tone to her voice.  Phew, that was a narrow miss!  We could easily have been an hour late for our meet-up, which would be horrible.

Turia Fountain is almost two miles from our hotel room.  My knees have been bothering me - I think the effect of the cortisone shot are starting to wear off - so I leave earlier than Rachael to allow me time to walk more slowly; and, of course, to stop for photos of all the remarkable architecture I pass along the way.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The PTT building. I’m always amazed by how elegant some of these often are.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I was intrigued by this civic building, with the backside of its shades mirroring off its windows.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

I keep a reasonable pace, and it’s not quite four when I approach the cathedral.  After taking a few shots en passant I come to Turia Fountain, our meeting point.  With a half hour to kill, I find a good spot to sit off on the edge of the plaza and wait for folks to arrive.  I’m keeping a careful eye out for the Branhams who I rather expect to arrive early, so I can get a candid shot of them arriving at the fountain and then looking around for Rachael and me.

I’m happy to wait.  It’s a very pleasant afternoon, much balmier than I expect we’ll be experiencing soon in Portland, and it’s a great spot for people watching.

The cathedral, from the Plaza de la Reina.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The opposite side of the cathedral, from the Plaza de la Verge.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Tour group.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Turia Fountain.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Jen RahnGreat timing with that little one just about to slide off the edge!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jen RahnThat was so lucky, this and the following photo on the scooter. Whee!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 6
Jacquie GaudetMy eye is caught by the girl on the scooter but then I wonder about the fellow in the blue jacket. Did he just get splashed? Or did he just remember he was supposed to be doing something or be somewhere else? Great capture!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Gregory GarceauSo much joy on that girl's face. It must be her first time on an ice skating rink. That IS a skating rink, isn't it?
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetI was so pleased this came out. She was only in the clear for a shot briefly before folks shielded her again.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauSure looks like one, doesn’t it? But no. Not even wet.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jen RahnTo Jacquie GaudetI think the guy in the ball cap must have shown Blue Shirt Guy (BSG) something on his phone that BSG was wanting to un-see.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jen RahnIf only all humans could visit the joyful state of Scooter Girl at least 3 times every day!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago

Rachael arrives and joins me.  While we wait we discuss possible places to eat.  I find an actual Italian place, La Terazza, just around the corner off the plaza and Rachael agrees it will be fine if the Branhams agree when they arrive.  When they finally arrive, that is.  At 4:45 we consider calling, but we failed to get a phone number from them; so Rachael fires off an email.

Rachael arrives.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Waiting for the Branhams.
Heart 3 Comment 0

At 4:55 we still haven’t heard and decide something must have gone wrong.  We’re just about to grab a table at La Terazza and send them a note, when we finally hear back.  They’re about a mile away, walking as fast as they can, and are late because they thought the meeting was at 5:30.

And they thought right.  I omitted a  minor detail earlier.  This morning I sent a confirmation email to Janice to confirm they’d arrived in Valencia last night but by mistake said we’d meet them at 5:30, having misremembered the prior agreement.  My bad, as Rocky quickly agreed when I passed this on to her.

It’s a good thing the Branhams are good sports, and fast walkers.  We haven’t been seated long and I’m just sipping my wine when they hustle up and join us.  Good friends!  It’s pretty remarkable that we met them for the first time just over a year ago when we saw their  Bike Fridays parked with ours at our hotel’s garage in Sarlat; and this is the fourth time now that we’ve gotten together.  First Sarlat, then last winter in Tucson, then this summer in Portland at the end of their previous bike tour; and now here.  And next, in Tucson again this winter, from the sounds of it.  They’re practically family!

So we meet again, in Valencia.
Heart 11 Comment 0
The complete set.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Kathleen ClassenI love hearing about CycleBlaze meetups. A big hooray for this one!!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Patrick O'HaraThanks for sharing your adventures once again, and again, and again......Hope all goes well returning to Portland. And, good luck on your upcoming surgery as well!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Janice BranhamWe are so happy it all worked out and we could keep the streak going. We've learned so much about cycle touring abroad since that lucky meeting with you in Sarlat. Great fun seeing you again. Adiós, hasta la próxima amigos!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Gregory GarceauI fell for "Falling Through Spain." I'm glad the Caribou shirt fell into your hands. It's still fall, and I know you have that ablation thing coming up. The Feeshko and I hope everything falls into place after that, and you & Rocky fall into more fine adventures. I feel like I used the words "fell" and "fall" too much in this message.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Gregory GarceauTo Gregory GarceauOh yeah, and I'm glad your meet-up with the Branhams fell into place.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Keith AdamsMy sense of time, and memory for scheduled events, has seemingly become unreliable. I'm glad to see it's evidently not limited to me.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Jen RahnHappy to be checking in here on a meet-up day!

Andersons and Branhams!

What a way to wrap up the tour.

I love seeing these connections in the cycle touring community and am so glad we'll be seeing you two in the near future.

¡Hasta pronto!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago