Smith and Bybee Lakes - Falling Through Spain - CycleBlaze

September 7, 2023

Smith and Bybee Lakes

So there are a few last items to share after all before we fly out Saturday morning.  First, there’s the bike report.  I’m off the saddle for a few days as per my post-op instructions after my cortisone injection.  That’s not holding up Rocky of course, so for the last few days she’s been putting in some last training miles before handing over her bike for me to suitcase for the flight.  Just the usual: 45 miles Thursday on a complex route I drew up for her that took her east to Mount Tabor, south to Oregon City, and then back up through Riverview Cemetery to give her some hill work; and then yesterday she put in another 48 out the Springwater to Boring and back.

Rachael wasn’t in it just for the ride though.  She was also conducting a product review for the new Garmin watch she picked up at REI earlier in the week.  There’s a story here.  For some time now she’s been wearing an Amazon fitness watch that she uses to monitor her performance.  She’s gotten quite attached to this, and was frustrated and perplexed when she couldn’t find its charging cable Tuesday.  We looked everywhere together without success, so she decided she needed to replace the device and checked the REI store to see what was in stock that we could pick up before leaving town.

She came home with one of these, very enthusiastic with its very long list of features and pleased that she got it at 1/3 off as a clearance price because the Pearl District store is shuttering soon because security has become too great of a concern (a very sad commentary on how things are going still in Portlandia).  

Tune in to your body and reach your goals with the Garmin vivoactive 4S GPS smartwatch, which features a broad range of all-day health-monitoring features, animated workouts and Garmin Coach.
Heart 0 Comment 3
Keith AdamsCan the mindless prompting of an automaton really motivate you? I can't get pat the knowledge that the various "badges" that I "earned" from my FitBit, or the things my Garmin takes note of, are just figments of a programmed algorithm . That makes them meaningless, and pointless, to me.

Perhaps that's due to my not really having fitness goals or objectives to care about.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsYou make a good point, but how about that color! And the blurb (copied from the catalog) didn’t even mention that you can toggle between a digital and analog time display.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Keith AdamsI mainly want it to track my heart rate. Since my turbinate surgery for more nasal passages which was supposed to improve my breathing but actually made it a little worse, I can’t really tell how hard I’m working since I can get very little air through my nose.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

She’s not home fifteen minutes when she sheepishly declares she’s just found the charger for her other watch, in one of the spots she’s sure she’d searched more than once.

So now she’s got a decision to make.  REI has an excellent return policy, but now that she’s got it she thinks she might prefer the new one.  So these two bike rides are a test, and she wears both watches so she can compare them and see what she thinks.  After the first ride she’s unsure, but after the second she’s made her decision - the new one has issues with accurately tracking heart rate  and is too complicated, and is going back to the store.

____________

My days aren’t like that.  They’re considerably less energetic, starting with a drive over to Stepping Stone Cafe Wednesday morning before driving over to Bruce’s home for a last visit before we leave.  Afterwards I head home and finally get down to packing in preparation for departure.  I’m sorry to be driving because it’s a fine morning, but it can’t be helped.

It’s an excellent breakfast - I may not have been over to Stepping Stone in over a year - and a fine visit with Bruce, catching up with the state of his projects and garden.  The main thing I want to mention though is my knee.  It’s astounding.  Even though the doctor said it might take a week to tell if the shot had helped, I thought it seemed better even last night, less than eight hours after the injection.

This morning though, I’m sure.  I can’t quite believe the improvement.  I’m moving more comfortably than I have in probably a half a year.  Overnight, such mundane activities as getting up and down from chairs or scaling stairs are much easier, and all day long I’m startled to realize if been walking around without thinking about my knee.  I know that this does nothing for the underlying problem, and that someday surgery will probably come back into the picture, but for now it feels like a small miracle.  Now if the effect just lasts long enough to matter.

Among other things, it makes me more excited about leaving for Spain, feeling like I’ll get more enjoyment from walking around town after our rides and taking more than slow-paced, minimal hikes.

At the doorway to Stepping Stone Cafe is this lovely crape myrtle. I have Andrea to thank for educating me to the identity of this striking plant, which we see in full bloom around town now.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Excellent. I’ll have to make it back here in November while I’m taking it easy for the month after surgery.
Heart 4 Comment 0
On Bruce’s front porch, where we’ve been joined by the neighbor’s cat.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanThis has been my summer project - to finally renovate my front porch. I have looked at it too long, but what a lot of work!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Clematis, one of the countless number of noteworthy plants in Bruce’s garden.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanThese are the spent blossoms of Clematis Helios.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
There’s always something new and remarkable to see in Bruce’s museum-like home. Any guesses on what this crenulated brown thing is? The other is a wind-up hopping toucan, of course.
Heart 1 Comment 8
Bill ShaneyfeltMy guess...

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/503801-Faviinae/browse_photos
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltDarn good guess! Not even close though.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Lyle McLeodI know it’s folly to try to go toe-to-toe with Bill, but here’s my shot - Morel?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Lyle McLeodImpressive! Two very fine but sadly quite incorrect guesses.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Suzanne GibsonI tried to cheat and did an Internet search - they told me it's a rug. I really think it is a dried up brain, I don't know if it's from a human or an animal.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonEww, gross! Bruce has many strange things at his place, but hopefully he’s not hoarding old brains there. Well, maybe a squirrel brain. He hates squirrels. But no.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltFor an ID, lighting is not good... Poor, actually. Intentional? Puts me in mind of:
https://bygl.osu.edu/node/1884
But it is too fibrous for those. Perhaps some home grown stuff similar to lufa? Probably not, as it looks too small. My previous guesses are all invalidated by size since the plastic jumping toy is probably only an inch or so tall. Deceptive photography like a 16 foot rattler in reverse... This calls for more effort when I have the time.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bruce LellmanI do wish I had a brain.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

Thursday I’m off with the car again, this time out to Smith and Bybee Lakes, the wetland I visited last week by bicycle.  This place has a reputation as one of the top birding hot spots in Portland, and I decide to give one last try at finding a new bird for the list before leaving town.   I’m not particularly hopeful of that, but mostly I’m excited just by the fact that walking through the refuge sounds like fun.

And it is fun.  It’s not a long walk - I probably only put in four or five miles here and afterwards at Kelly Point - but it’s just so great to walk this much without being constantly reminded that my knee hurts.  And there aren’t many birds around, at least not close enough that I can get a good look because the water is so low now - but there are just enough.  It’s a real thrill to be looking at a small flock of juncos hopping around at Kelly Point when I hear something in the tree above me and look up and see a red-breasted sapsucker.  I’m not sure, but I think this is a lifetime first for me.

I said a few posts back that I thought Smith and Bybee Lakes were the largest wetland preserve in town. That was an understatement. It’s the largest urban freshwater wetland in the country.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking across Bybee Lake, with many birds out there that are too far off to identify. I’m standing on the trail to the canoe launch, which gives you a sense of how low the water level is now.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A great egret, and most likely a pair of greater yellowlegs, although they’re too far off to be sure.
Heart 4 Comment 0
I don’t know what this is for sure, but maybe a hybrid with a domestic species.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Downy woodpecker.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Looking across the mouth of the Willamette at Kelly Point. The south end of Sauvie Island is straight ahead.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Zooming in on the photo above: an osprey.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Looking upriver on the Willamette. I don’t think I’d have to walk too far around the bend to get a view of downtown Portland.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is not a bird. Count the feet, Greg!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Dark-eyed junco.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Northern flicker.
Heart 4 Comment 0
#185: Red-breasted sapsucker
Heart 6 Comment 0
Looks like Rachael’s bike isn’t going to pack itself. Guess I’d better have at it.
Heart 3 Comment 0

____________________

2023 Bird List

     185. Red-breasted sapsucker

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Steve Miller/GrampiesSo glad to hear the knee is feeling so much better and hoping you get all the way through Spain with the full benefit. Don't overdo it at first though, let the cortisone effect get really established before you enjoy feeling 15 years younger. Have fun!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kelly IniguezHurray for a happy knee!

Jacinto's shoulder surgery is set for the 20th - hopefully he ends up as happy as you.

I'm now looking at Lagos de Covadonga, near Bilbao - has that shown up on your radar?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltGood on the knee! Gives me some hope... maybe.

3 "picky" birds in one day! Nice! I like the flicker best.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Suzanne GibsonGreat that your knee is feeling better already! Today is Saturday! Have a good flight and easy landing, you two!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Bob DistelbergSorry to hear the Garmin didn't work out Rachael. I'm on my third Garmin watch, and I've liked each one better than the last. I also really like the Garmin Connect ecosystem and it's fitness data, and how it all integrates pretty nicely with my Garmin bike computer.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Janice BranhamQuite the bird bonanza to wind up the runup to your fall through Spain. Glad your knee is doing so well. Safe travels!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Rich FrasierFantastic news on the knee! Congratulations and have a great voyage over the pond.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathleen ClassenWonderful news about your knee. Long may it continue. I loved the story about Rachael’s watch. I have an Apple Watch and am fully addicted to it. I do remember the first day though. Despite being fully immersed in the Apple ecosystem for some years there was a real learning curve and I was ready to return it. Hooray for Rachael finding the charging cord. These devices are so expensive they are best replaced only when absolutely necessary. We leave for Spain next Friday and are starting to get serious about packing. Looking forward to everything except the flights. That is how flying is these days.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Kathleen ClassenYou’re leaving for Spain in six days? We’re going to Spain too! Where are you going? Spain’s such a small place, we’re bound to bump into each other somewhere.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Rich FrasierThanks, Rich. Can’t say I’m looking forward to the hop itself all that much, but we’re both definitely ready to be on the other side and sorry that it will be for such a short stay this time.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Bill ShaneyfeltIt was nice to see three different ones, alright. I’ve yet to see a woodpecker I didn’t like. I’ll have to remember the woods at Kelly Point are good for them - I must have seen a half dozen flickers there today.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathleen ClassenTo Scott AndersonWe would absolutely love a CycleBlaze meetup. We are flying into Barcelona, arrival September 16, three days there and then we (in our usual fashion) have a very loose plan. It involves the coast, Girona, then north into France. We are also hoping to get the ferry to Mallorca, although that will depend on how much fun we have north of Barcelona. We fly out of Barcelona October 26. I am trying to talk Keith into Mallorca as a separate trip next spring. Maybe I should just book it and give it to him for Christmas!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago