Leaving Portland - Falling Through Spain - CycleBlaze

September 8, 2023

Leaving Portland

We are both more than ready to leave Portland, but especially we’re ready to leave the apartment we’ve been living in for the past too many days.  Before we fly off, let’s have a last look at this place before we go so we don’t forget.  On the one hand, it’s been really economical - we probably saved more than $1,500 by staying here; but on the other hand, you get what you pay for.

Enough. Let’s move on.
Heart 1 Comment 0

 Our last day in town went quite well, and in fact the whole last week has been fine.  I’m sure we’d have felt much differently about this stay if we’d landed in a different lodging in a different part of town.  We won’t forget.  As a quick rundown on the day, Rachael took in one last 13.5 mile hike up into the Marquam Woods while I took our belongings down to the storage unit, dropped in at a car wash to clean the crow shit off the Raven before leaving it for Elizabeth; and then drove down to Oaks Bottom Refuge for a last bird crawl.  I’ve biked past this refuge many times on the Springwater trail, looking across the wetland to the bluff behind it that rises up to Sellwood: 

This is the view of Oaks Bottom we’re familiar with. This wildlife mural on the back wall of the funeral home has been here ever since we moved to Portland twenty years ago.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Today though is the first time I’ve ever gone out there for a walk along the trail that runs behind the lake, hiding in the oaks and cottonwoods right beneath the bluff.  It’s a really attractive walking trail, well maintained and fairly well used by folks out walking their dogs or trail running or checking out the wildlife.  I’m surprised to find it tucked back here in the trees after all this time.  It makes a pleasant walk, and it’s interesting looking back westward from the other side of the lake for the first time.

On the Bluff Trail, Oaks Bottom Wildlife Refuge.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cottonwoods.
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s nice to be warned.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The view across the lake from the Bluff Trail. I’ve never seen the lake from this side before.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Looking across the lake to the amusement park. The Springwater bike path runs right in front of it, next to the lake.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It’s not the best time to be out here for birding, on a mid-afternoon late in summer; but surprisingly enough I came away with yet another new bird, the fourth in the last week: a Steller’s jay.  It’s a terrible shot - by the time I found him with the camera he was on the move again - but good enough.  I think this is the fourth Steller’s Jay I’ve seen in the last few weeks, and I’m happy to get any shot at all.  Maybe I’ll get a better one when we’re back in town later in the fall.  I’m sure I’ll make it back to this trail too.  It’s a nice new discovery to find after all this time here.

I saw this hummingbird almost as soon as I got on the trail, and was excited thinking it was another new bird for the year. It’s not though. It’s a female Anna’s hummingbird, a species we saw in California in the spring.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another Bushtit invasion. There are another dozen flitting around nearby. That’s nice, but I’m more curious about the bird on the right, which I don’t recognize. There might be enough information here to figure it out when I’ve got the time. The tail especially seems distinctive. Interesting too that the bird has been banded.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Ben ParkeThe black band from the eye to the beak is distinctive too.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
It’s nice to get such a nice shot of a gadwall, good enough to see how attractive and colorful they are. I was surprised that she stayed near long enough to give me a really good look.
Heart 4 Comment 0
She’s staying close by because she’s got responsibilities. Her seven ducklings are grazing in the shallows right in front of me.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A California scrub jay, the more commonly seen jay here. Not only are they more frequently than Steller’s jays, they’re not as shy either.
Heart 5 Comment 0
#186: Steller’s jay. You might want to take my word on this one. I’m sorry I didn’t get a good shot, because they’re really an attractive bird with their rich iridescent purple and black crest.
Heart 3 Comment 0

In the evening we drove down to Caffe Mingo for dinner with Elizabeth and her son Stewart and his wife Jilyan, down from Seattle for a few days.   It made a nice gathering - it’s probably been two years since we’ve seen Stewart and Jilyan.  Afterwards we dropped off the car at Elizabeth’s and walked back to the apartment for the last time, with me enjoying the fact that the mile walk and this afternoon’s hike were no big deal on the knee.

____________________

2023 Bird List

     186. Steller’s jay 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Steve Miller/GrampiesA pain free knee almost does feel new, doesn't it?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Sandy EarleSo glad the cortisone shot is working!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Sandy EarleThanks, Sandy. It does make me feel much younger. Still 68 years old in my brain.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago