Leap Day, part one - The Seven Year Itch - CycleBlaze

February 27, 2024 to February 29, 2024

Leap Day, part one

This is an interim report.  It’s still the first thing in the morning, with nothing really to share about today yet other than the news that sometime in the late evening last night my symptoms finally began clearing up; and this morning I feel nearly normal.  And Rachael’s getting there too, but just behind me - unsurprisingly, since I got a head start before I presumably passed it on to her.

And just in time.  We leave Alcudia tomorrow, so we’ve got a bike ride ahead to be ready for; and after yesterday’s storm passed on it looks like today will be beautiful.  Rachael is planning to take an easy hike after it warms up and I’m going to take a short bike ride to the Albufera, the marshy refuge just a few miles to the east.

Let the sunshine in!
Heart 3 Comment 0

So it looks like we’ll be able to show you at least a bit of this corner of the island before we go, but that’s to come later.  First let’s catch up on the last few days now that I’ve got enough energy to put something down again.  There’s been a lot of brain fog swirling around recently, so details are thin.

Tuesday

It rained most of the morning, but with midday clearing predicted we spend the morning holed up on the couch and planning what we’ll do with our day once things improve.  As we will end up doing every day here, we start out with scrambled eggs and coffee which I supplement with muesli and Rachael with toast.

It looked more or less like this all morning. Were not missing out on anything by staying on the right side of the glass.
Heart 2 Comment 0

We’re both feeling somewhat better today.  Neither of us is as congested as we have been, and we’re hardly coughing at all.  We convince ourselves that we’ll be fine going out for lunch if we can find a place where we’re seated well away from anyone else.  Our plan is to do that and then walk around the corner to the grocery store, and then finish up with a stop at the pharmacy to pick up some more decongestant and hopefully something for Rachael’s sore ribs.  This is a condition we haven’t mentioned before - somewhere along the way Rachael’s apparently injured her ribs - maybe when muscling the bikes up and off the bus, or when she brought her bike up to the apartment in the elevator.  It’s painful enough that she’s worried about it, and she’s hoping to find something to wrap her torso with for support.

The restaurant solution is fine - we find a place near our apartment with an outside enclosure that’s empty except for the two of us and enjoy a goat cheese salad and fish mains, pleased to have appetites again.  At the pharmacy Rachael picks up an analgesic ointment and a role of tape for her ribs, which we wrap her with when we’re back at the room.

And then, because I’m still feeling reasonably well I go out again not long before sundown for a short walk down by the marina.  Tomorrow’s weather looks to be terrible from dawn to dusk, and I want to see at least something here before being cooped up again.

And it really is nice to be out, although it’s on the chilly side even with me well layered up.  its quiet - we’re here well off season and there are only a few other folks about.  I don’t go far really - just about two miles along the edge of the bay and marina.  Just enough to get a taste of how pretty it is here, to pick up the first bird of the tour, and for me to probably have overexerted myself.  Even at a slow walk, I’m pretty fatigued when I make it back to the room.

It’s very quiet and peaceful now. Nice conditions for a lazy stroll.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 6 Comment 0
Alcudia sits at the throat of a rocky peninsula. Here we’re looking across the harbor toward the peninsula, which looks like it’s probably a stunning place for a hike if Rachael’s up for it later.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
#145: Black-headed gull
Heart 4 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesAnd in full breeding plumage!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesI almost pointed that out too. It will be a real treat to be here in spring for a change.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Looking back at the small commercial heart of the port town.
Heart 1 Comment 0

We have Netflix here, so Rachael’s done some research and found a film we’d like to watch: Maestro, the Leonard Bernstein biopic.  There’d was talk of watching it this afternoon or evening, but by the time I make it back to the room it makes more sense to save it for a rainy day activity.  

Another beautiful end to the day. Its hard to tell from here, but a big change is just hours away.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Wednesday

As predicted, today is a day to just stay indoors.  It’s raining hard when we wake up, and very windy.  It will remain windy all day, averaging around 25 mph.  A real storm.

It’s more bleak than it looks here. I’ve caught conditions at a slight lull, with the winds and rain damped down. Its no day to be outside.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was right, unfortunately.  I probably did overdo things with that puny walk, and my congestion has worsened again.  I have a very restless night, needing to blow my nose and clear my throat constantly all night long.  It’s really quite disgusting, and you don’t need more graphic details I’m sure.  Let’s just say that between the two of us we’re burning through the toilet paper fast.

To give Rachael at least some chance of getting some rest I take the couch for the evening so I won’t keep waking her up all night long.  I get hardly any sleep at all because of the congestion, because my back hurts from lying around so much, and because it’s so bright - maddeningly, I can’t figure out how to turn off the kitchen cupboard lights, which throw off enough light that the room is well lit all night long.  It’s light if you look in their direction, and it’s just as light looking the other way because they reflect back from the windows.

I spend quite a while carefully examining the walls looking for hidden switches, trying to figure out how we turned them on in the first place.  I keep testing the same switches over and over, because I can’t quite believe that none of them is the controller.  Finally it sinks in - one of the switches does nothing, so it must be the one.  The switch must have broken sometime after we got here, and the lights are stuck in the on position.  Oh, fine.

I awake being concerned about my health and hoping there’s not something more serious than a cold going on.  At its worst, I feel like I’m choking and drowning in fluid, and it leaves me thinking about a colleague from work years ago whose daughter had cystic fibrosis.  He’d spend time every day pounding on his daughter’s back helping her decongest so she could breathe again.  I can hardly imagine.

When we’re both up, Rachael does some research and finds a medical center I might try: Mallorca Doctor, a network of clinics that span the island - the pharmacist had mentioned it yesterday, in case Rachael thought she should have her ribs xrayed. It looks perfect - the nearest one is barely a block away, so even in these conditions I could at least make that short distance.  I contact their 24-hour appointment line through WhatsApp, but am disappointed to learn that the clinic is closed until next Monday (maybe it doesn’t open until March?).  No problem - their services are actually primarily house calls!   I request an appointment, and one gets scheduled for sometime between 10:00 and 10:30, at our apartment.

At 10 I get messaged that the doctor is on his way, and requesting confirmation that I’m still in.  A house call!  I don’t think I’ve been seen by a doctor on an in-home visit since I was a child in West Virginia.  The visit goes well - the doctor is fluent in English - and my vital signs get checked.  He listens to my lungs, looks down my throat, and reassures me that it looks like a routine cold or RSV.  On the chance that there’s a bacterial infection involved he prescribes an antibiotic, and recommends a regimen of rest and keeping hydrated.

Once there’s a lull in the weather and the pharmacy’s open Rachael makes a dash to the pharmacist’s to fill my prescription and to pick up another six liter water carboy - the third we’ve needed already - the water has a horrible taste here, not really fit for consumption.  It’s a challenging outing for her - there’s lots of puddle-hopping to be done, the carboy is heavy and awkward, and she has to go to three different stores to find water.  I’m so lucky that she’s doing as well as she is, and so tough.  Sometimes I worry for how she’ll be if I’m not around to care for her someday, but of course it’s mostly her that’s taking care of me.  I’d be lost without her.

Amazing how much water we’re going through. We’ll need another before we leave here.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the afternoon we watch Maestro, which makes an excellent diversion.  It’s really therapeutic to have something else to focus on than yourself for a few hours at least.  And then we just hang out for the rest of the day again, watching the palm trees whip around and the rains come down.

And the, sometime around ten at night after Rachael’s been off in bed for an hour, I start feeling better. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 13
Kelly IniguezI'm so happy to see an update and am wishing you both good health.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Suzanne GibsonShouldn’t that be tritto?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Eva WaltersQuadritto!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltQuinto... (if my internet search is correct.) Looks like your weather should also improve. Rest well!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesQuinditto. We were getting worried, especially Dodie, who began obsessively checking for a new post every few hours and sadly reporting that there was nothing yet. We are so glad that things have turned around for you two.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Kelly IniguezThanks so much, Kelly. I’d have posted something sooner but I just couldn’t muster the enthusiasm until there was something encouraging to report.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Steve Miller/GrampiesThanks, Steve and Dotie. I considered putting something up yesterday so folks wouldn’t worry, but couldn’t muster the energy and enthusiasm. And maybe I was a little worried myself.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Keith ClassenWe were starting to worry about you as well. Thanks for the update. Hope both of you are on the mend. Take care guys!
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretI do not know you, but having just gone through breast cancer surgery on Wednesday, I was more worried about you both in a foreign land with no physician close by. House calls? Wow..That was my childhood..those days are really long gone. Hope you both will see the light now..or, at least, be able to figure out why the light was always on?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Scott AndersonTo Karen PoretThat’s so sweet of you to be worried about us with this going on in your life right now. It is disconcerting and makes me feel vulnerable to get sick overseas, especially as I’ve gotten older. This is nothing though, just a cold. If you follow us it won’t take long for you to see what an incorrigible whiner I am. It’s almost part of my brand.

Best of luck with your recovery! We’ll be thinking of you.
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Karen PoretTo Scott AndersonMuch appreciated and hope you ARE better! :)
Reply to this comment
2 months ago