To Paris - Follow My Heart - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2024

To Paris

After more than a month in Iberia, it was time to return to Paris. The only hiccup involved packing up Vivien George.  

I had no problems removing the pedals, thanks in part to my new wrench with extra leverage. This time the problem was that I could not loosen the rear through axle - a first for me. I presumed that when Sergio replaced the brakes back in Merida he gave the bolt an extra turn for good measure.  In any case, it was clear that the task was going to need more muscle than I possessed.

I went downstairs and recruited the young man at the desk - he was a boy really, tall and skinny and seemingly without muscles. And I was right - his best efforts were to no avail and I would have to seek help elsewhere. I googled the nearest bicycle-related enterprise, which turned out to be a place offering bike tours of Seville. I was a bit skeptical, but reasoned that it was worth a shot. 

There were two couples checking in when I rolled Vivien George past the reception desk. I considered asking the gentlemen for help, but thought it was a bit inappropriate. However, there was no hesitation when I spotted three idle construction workers 100 yards down the street. They were a bit confused at first, pointing out that the bike had no pedals, but it was all clear when I flipped the bike over,  pulled out my three-way hex tool, and mimed that I wanted to take off the wheel. The strongest looking of the three jumped forward, grabbed the wrench, and after a bit of a struggle was able to loosen the bolt. We all had a good laugh while posing for strong-man photos, and after much thanks I went back to the hotel to finish packing.

Three strong men in green - the one on the right was my hero for the day
Heart 9 Comment 1
Suzanne GibsonHe got muscles!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago

The rest of the trip to Paris was pretty straightforward. I'd booked on Iberia, wanting to rack up some OneWorld Airline miles, and was a bit shocked that you have to pay for all beverages and snacks, even water. I did ask for water on the Madrid-Paris leg, and was able to get a free cup of water, but bottled water would cost. Not surprisingly, the snack cart did very little business.

Some final thoughts

Overall, the tour was amazingly successful. Although it got off to a pretty bumpy start, it ended on an absolute high.

Weather is always an unknown when planning a tour, and spring in the Northern Hemisphere can be particularly prone to rain, wind and lingering winter chill.  All three came into play this year, but the reward was an incredible explosion of wildflowers that brightened up each an every day. 

The Alentejo and Extremadura regions are fantastic for cycling, with an abundance of smaller roads and historical towns and cities. In addition, cycling through the natural parks and the less well-known towns were among my favorite days. There are so many wonderful places to visit in these regions and I certainly left wanting to return - a definite sign of a successful tour.

A real highlight of this tour was spending time in the company of fellow CycleBlazers. I've become good friends with Scott, Rachael, Suzanne and Janos over the past few years, all thanks to the CB community. I encourage everyone to reach out and meet-up with a fellow CBer when  the opportunity presents.

I'll be in Paris for the next couple of weeks and then will lead two friends from Raleigh on a 10-day tour through Bordeaux and Dordogne. It should be a hoot!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 12
Scott AndersonRecruiting a strong man! I’ll have to remember that tip. I’ve needed one in the past also.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Kathleen JonesAnother successful tour! Enjoy Paris and your tour with your Raleigh friends. See you soon after!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetWhen I collected my bike from the shop after its tune-up, the mechanic told me he’d tightened a bunch of bolts he thought to be loose. Bolts I’d tightened to the best of my ability and thought fine. I’ll be packing my bike at home in the next couple of days but at least I’ll have Al and some long-handled tools around if I can’t undo those extra-tight (imo) bolts.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Susan CarpenterTo Kathleen JonesThanks Kathleen - I’m looking forward to our ride next month!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Susan CarpenterTo Jacquie GaudetIt might be good idea for me to remind mechanics that I am not as strong as they are. But it doesn’t seem that bolts need to be so tight that you need big muscles, long levers, or power tools to loosen them.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Susan CarpenterAgreed! But we independent women also need to be diligent about checking bolts if they aren’t as tight as could be.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Mike AylingBetter to have discovered that the bolt was too tight when packing the bike than with a puncture on the road!
Of course those still using quick release levers don't have such problems!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Lyle McLeodHi Susan,
Happy to see you back on home turf after another successful tour. We followed along on your’s and TA’s tour and really were intrigued with the Extremadura region. We really don’t know Spain very well!

At the risk of seeming like Timmy the Tool Geek, with respect to through-axel’s, the recommended torque to tighten them is usually in the 12-17 N-m range (a quick Google search indicates 150 in-lbs (17 N-m) as the norm for mtb’s - and that’s what’s listed on the front axel of my mountain bike). That amount of torque is not much and should be manageable (both closing and opening) by just about anyone. There is some risk of wheel bearing damage if they are over torqued. You may want to drop a line to the folks at Moots and find out what their spec is and be armed with this when you have your bike serviced.

Back to more interesting stuff …. Are you going to be around Paris during the Olympics? It could be crazy busy (but isn’t Paris always like that?) but it’s a great experience to to have. The opening ceremonies sound very unique!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Patrick O'HaraNice work, Susan. Really enjoyed following along. Great photos and writing.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Susan CarpenterThanks Patrick - it’s always nice to get a virtual Pat on the back
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Susan CarpenterTo Lyle McLeodHi Lyle - thanks for being Timmy the Tool Geek. I'd forgotten all about torque specs, and even though I bought a torque wrench tool I've only used it occasionally on my carbon bike. I'll check with Moots on their recommended torques.
And no, I'm not planning to be in Paris for the Olympics. I had decided to go to England before learning of plans for the opening ceremony, which sound amazing. So cool, so French - but perhaps better appreciated on TV? I do admit to some FOMO as I walk around the city and see all the preparations.
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago
Susan CarpenterTo Mike AylingFor sure Mike - it might have been a long time sitting on the side of the road waiting for someone stronger than me to pass by and help me with a flat tire. Wait a minute, I've already experienced that!!
Reply to this comment
2 weeks ago