Day 4 - ending at Westville, IL - Northern Indiana on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

September 2, 2011

Day 4 - ending at Westville, IL

Posted via email Sat Sep 3 12:19:02 2011 PDT

Another day with a heat alert issued - starting at 11:00am. My plan to get around this was to leave early - get up at 3:00am. I was awake at 2:24am and got started packing. Had the tent empty at 3:12am, tent down at 3:33am, and the bike loaded at 3:50am. Left campsite at 3:59am, stopping to top-off water jug. Made it to the park exit at 4:20am. Headed south on County Highway 22. My LED headlamp attached to the front basket was working well as a headlight. Lots of stars and quiet. Almost 5:30am before a car passed me.

Turned east on CR-2700N. Sunrise was at 6:19am. I was surprised how quickly it went from "It's dark." to "I can see!", which occurred around 5:47am.

At County Highway 10, I turned south. Took a break sitting on a bench at Collison's veteran's memorial at 6:50am. Turned south at Newtown Road. It was a nice downhill for me all the way to the I-74 overpass.

They had a truck stop and a McDonald's. I decided on the truck stop for breakfast, getting there at 8:15am. I had their country-fried steak special. Wasn't able to eat all the American fries. I left at 9:30am, but then had to stop at the Dollar General Store next door for my favorite bike-trip foods: Beanee Weenees and ginger snaps.

Continued south out of town. Later turned east on a gravel road to get to Westville. It was now getting hot, and I was slowing down. Saw something in the road ahead. Turned out to be a pillow! Was it nap-time already?

Arrived in Westville at 12:13pm, and at their park (Zamberletti Park) at 12:40pm. I was able to get some shade and new cold water there. A lot of people riding bikes around town, and most of them on the sidewalks, so I did the same on my way north to Dairy Queen. I ordered a Bacon Cheese GrillBurger and large Root Beer Freeze.

Done at 1:40pm, and on my way back south. As I was passing Zamberletti Park, a young man mowing the grass pulled up to talk. He said Forest Glen Preserve (my destination) was just 30 minutes away by bike. I wasn't so sure, at least for me in this heat. It actually took me to 3:35pm to get to the entrance, but I had a short nap next to a township building on the way.

Checked in at the Ranger Station. The officer on duty told me to pick a site, set up, and come back to pay. He was interested in my trip and came out to look at my bike. I did a lot of looking around in the campground, eventually selecting electric site #8.

Back at the check-in, I paid and also splurged on a bag of ice. I made a lot of ice water, and ate a lot of ice, back at my site. Once again, I think the heat affected me more than I realized. I recovered enough to take a shower. Then to bed at 8:30pm.

Spent: $8.48 + 2 (breakfast), $3.28 (Dollar General), $7.90 (lunch at DQ), $20 (campsite fee), $2 (ice).

Went: 55 miles

Jeff

Day 4 - Penfield, IL to Westville, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ looking west from N800E Road - Vermilion County, IL +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Zamberletti Park - Westville, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ memorial to Westville Area Coal Miners - Westville, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ memorial plaque +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ covered bridge at Forest Glen Preserve - Westville, IL +
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 161 miles (259 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Steve H71I saw your early morning departure and enjoyed the photos. Bike riding early morning, before sunrise is my favorite time to be out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jeff TeelTo Steve H71Steve,
This was the first time I tried a departure before sunrise. It was fun.
Jeff
Reply to this comment
1 year ago