Day 3 - still at Penfield, IL - Northern Indiana on the Open Road - CycleBlaze

September 1, 2011

Day 3 - still at Penfield, IL

Posted via email Fri Sep 2 07:18:01 2011 PDT

Was awake at 6:25am. Bought an orange soda (and later a Coke) at the machine by the camp office and went over to a picnic table by the lake to get some breeze and write yesterday's report. It took all morning to compose and standing on the picnic table with the BlackBerry over my head to get the report sent. With the high predicted in the upper 90's, and worn-out from yesterday's heat, I decided to sit-out today. Checked in with the camp host to pay for another night. Found out I paid too much last night, and got a $5 credit for tonight.

At 12:15pm, I sat down for lunch (chicken spread, crackers, pork and beans, applesauce, and ginger snaps).

Went back to the camp office on the bike to buy some firewood. I got to stand in the air-conditioned office for a minute while the camp host got me change. It was a refreshing minute!

Back to campsite for a nap. On the picnic table or in the tent? Decided on tent. That worked out OK. I meant to get up at 3:30pm, but slept until 4:15pm.

I sat down at the picnic table to figure out tomorrow's route. I loaded the MAP330 GPS with waypoints for the turns. Listened to my weather radio while working. At 4:00pm it was 100 degrees F in nearby Rantoul.

Back to outside the camp office for a Sprite and then it was supper time (6:00pm). Listened some, while eating my sardines, to my crank radio (though I had it on 'battery' mode).

At 6:30pm I started the campfire using the leftover oil in my sardine can (a trick I learned on last year's trip). I called Tahdra at 6:55pm and got caught up on all the home news.

Later rode the bike to the lake looking for a breeze. None; just mosquitoes like back at my campsite. Headed to the tent with plans to work on the report. Hopefully, I'll get an early start tomorrow.

Spent: $2.25 (sodas), $10 (campsite), $3 (firewood).

Went: 0 mile

Jeff

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0