DNF - Dirt Picker - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2023

DNF

I don't like to bail on things I start, but I feel like I lost my will to continue. Mary started having some overuse injuries that precipitated her decision to stop and she knew she was bailing back in grants. I will share some tips for anyone else riding northbound. I think it would be beneficial to have done some training beforehand so you can do longer distances from the start. At least in NM. There are several long stretches where it can be hard to find food. Even omnivores were out of food by the time they arrived in town. This training aspect is even more important if you are coming from sea level.

We didn't have any gear failures so that wasn't an excuse. And no flats even though there are probably a dozen goat heads in my tires right now.

Maybe another year or another ride. You can't beat the scenery in this route, but your mental game has to be on point. If you want to do it, you need to be ready to do it alone.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Mike AylingDisappointing, but you have to do what your body and mind tells you.
I have enjoyed your journal.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jeff LeeIt's a very, very challenging route. At least the New Mexico and Colorado portions, which is all I know about, because my wife and I decided we'd had enough of the Great Divide in Colorado, and abandoned it for a much easier, mostly-paved route to Canada.

It really took a mental toll on me, and I would have probably not made it to Grants on my own.

It's tough.

I enjoyed your journal!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Jon AylingReally enjoyed this - the route sounds tough as heck (I got thirsty just reading about it) so pretty understandable. No point smashing yourself against something that's stopped being enjoyable.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Patricia CyrI am sure this journal will be helpful to prepare the next cyclist. Thanks for taking me along with you this far!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago