a frightful night - Dirt Picker - CycleBlaze

June 2, 2023

a frightful night

Valle to Vinces campground to Pie Town.

Last night was freaky.

A shot of this cursed campground
Heart 1 Comment 0

I woke up last night at 1 pm to the sound of a pot falling on the ground. I stupidly left the pot out on the picnic table and we only hung our food a few feet from the tent. I was only concerned about rats chewing through packs, not anything serious. So I waited up and a few minutes later I heard another clanging that sounded like the pot again, but maybe further up the hill toward the bathroom. I resolved that I needed to get out and take a look. I got out to find the pot still on the table and everything looked fine. Maybe i made the sounds up? As i was walking back to the tent, a stick broke behind me, maybe 200' into the forest. I turned to look, but didnt see anything. I didnt have my headlamp since the moon was out, but a thin cloud cover damped the view. I heard whatever it was start jogging up the hill perpendicular to our camp. I freaked out and got right back in the tent. I listened more and heard more sticks breaking and some other concerning sounds. It was so quiet and still. I listened over my slightly crinkley pad. I figured it was a bear since it wasnt leaving after I had gotten out, so we both got out of the tent - this was after a quick "you go, no you go" - and we walked the food into the pit toilet. Some other hikers left trash in the fire pit too, so we picked that up. We debated just packing up and leaving after remembering the story from just a few years ago about the couple that scared away a grizzly and only moved their food. It was cold out since we were around 8k elevation, so packing up and riding down the mountain didnt sound attractive. we rationalized staying and fell back asleep. Luckily nothing happend, but i'll never stay in a lonely and dirty campground again! After reading the posted signs in the morning, there were bear, rabid coyotes, and cougar warning signs! im getting bear spray asap and not hanging my food 10' from my head anymore. I dont think its common to carry spray in this area, but that was the worst night of sleep.

Anyway, we got on the road around 845 and rode a mostly downhill route to Pie Town, NM. it was about 30 miles on good roads.

Cool old building
Heart 4 Comment 0

We arrived at noon and went to the pie shop. There are two in town and they alternate days being open. There is no grocery store here, so we ate pie, being mostly out of food. After the pie, we went to the Pie Town hostel, called the Toaster House. It was supposed to have a stock of some foods that other hikers and bikers have left. We were hoping it would be decent since the next grocery store is still about 70 miles up the road in Grants, NM.  We arrived to find the caretaker, Dana, who showed us around. We found a place to put the tent, showered in a real shower, and started cooking some food. They had potatoes, rice, beans, and all. No wifi though, so thats down the road at the RV park. I did have some service at the pie shop, but nothing here. our plan for the day is eating, self care, and a little bike maintenance.

The toaster house
Heart 4 Comment 0

Mileage:29
Up:1631
Down:1969
Ride time:3h

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 156 miles (251 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Patricia CyrPie Town, really?! Does everyone grow their own food in Pie town? How can there be no grocery?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago