Introduction - Mountain Jam - CycleBlaze

Introduction

West Virginia!  John Denver once sang about its alluring country roads and the good lifestyle. There are thick forests, deep valleys, mighty rivers, hills, "hollers," and mountains all of which seem to envelope a person who wanders inside.  

It's a unique state with a proud history, many attractions and amenities. Despite all of that, the Mountain State is not a common choice for most touring bicyclists. There are accounts of rail trail rides, a few state crossings, and several expeditions into the state as part of a longer tours headed for somewhere else. What doesn't seem plentiful are journals or articles devoted solely to West Virginia.

Back on May 25, 1978, a friend and I rode into Wild and Wonderful West Virginia. The place continues to draw me back all these years later.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once upon a time, a friend and I rode in West Virginia on a trek West.  It was my first exposure to the place, which I beheld with a little fear, excitement, and awe.  I've since been back many times but never as a tour focusing on the state itself.  Since it seems that comprehensive bicycle tours in West Virginia are relatively rare, I decided to explore the place on my bike.  It is sure to be hilly and remote with a few surprises along the way.  I'll tackle it in stages, as time and conditions allow.  My experiences and findings are reported here.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0