The wheels on the bike go 'round and 'round - Mambo Italiano - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2023

The wheels on the bike go 'round and 'round

After 11 years of faithful service, we are ready to retire my dear wife's dear Disc Trucker. She has upgraded to a bike that we hope will suit her needs and style a little more:

Heart 0 Comment 3
Mike AylingNice, but difficult to carry a frame pump!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Mike AylingI carry a Lezyne Micro floor pump in it's little holder that attaches between the frame and a bottle cage. Fits even my tiny bike with straight downtube (but not my carbon road bike with its molded frame). Bonus: it's much much easier to use than any frame pump I've ever tried.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kevin StevensI've got a Topeak Mini Morph, which does the job, but is clumsy to use and takes forever to inflate a tire. I prefer the frame pump.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago

It's lighter, fits her well, and perhaps most importantly, utilizes brifters instead of bar end shifters (aka "barcons"). She was always bumping her legs up against the barcons, to the point of causing bruises. This beauty's got all the current gravel bike upgrades: tubeless tires, hydraulic brakes, and thru axles. This is all new to both of us, and until we have some experience maintaining these parts, I'm a little concerned about their suitability for touring. Nevertheless, we're going to make a leap of faith and put this bike through its paces.

My trusty steed remains unmodified:

Heart 1 Comment 0

You may notice the shiny new chain. I finally stretched out the old one with some training rides. The timing is perfect. The new chain should see me through the entire tour.

I'll throw my 4 panniers on the bike and it'll be good to go. We even bought a tent with short pole segments that will fit into one of the front panniers. The rest of our camping and cooking stuff should fit into the other front pannier. There's something very satisfying about this division of gear. Often when we're staying at a hotel, they have a secure room in which we can store our bikes. In these cases, I can simply grab the rear bags and take them to our rooms, with no concern about whether I might be leaving something important behind.

I may devote a separate post to our gear. Other than the tent, there's nothing new. On the other hand, if you haven't followed our previous trips, everything will be new, even the very old stuff.

That's it for now. I'll write again in a week or two. The excitement is certainly building!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Jacquie GaudetAl and I have tubeless tires, hydraulic brakes, and thru axles on our newest bikes and love them! These bikes have been (so far) to Spain and twice to Italy, a total of 19 weeks of overseas touring, plus plenty of day rides and short local trips. My older (2014) Co-Motion tourer has brifters and they have never caused any issues. The only caveat is that the derailleur cables are much easier to replace *before* they break.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago