Preconceived notions - Mambo Italiano - CycleBlaze

August 4, 2023

Preconceived notions

I have no idea what to expect of Italy. I read travelogues, I pore over maps, I see photos, I check out some street views, but still, this trip could turn out to be any of the things our past tours of Europe have been, or it could be something completely different. I want to embrace the uncertainty. It's exhilarating. But that's not really my nature. I like to be prepared.

Bike touring is a sort of exposure therapy, a way of learning to deal with the unpredictable forces of life that bring us flat tires, blistering heat, rain, headwinds, detours, closed shops (that's the worst!), fully-booked hotels, closed campgrounds, sickness. Oh my god, the list goes on and on! Wait, why are we doing this again?

I have to remind myself: we're not riding the Darién Gap here, it's going to be just fine. There are so many ways to bail out of difficult situations in developed areas. I think we're getting to the point in our lives when we will opt for the easy way out without feeling guilty about it. We're going to stop, smell the roses, plan shorter days, and linger when we feel like it. It may stretch our budget. It may make for a more boring journal. But maybe not!

So join us on a little excursion and let's see what happens this time around. Here's the general plan. We'll be flying in to Rome exactly one month from today.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bob KoreisJust looked at the map of your proposed route. What an incredible trip you have planned. Italy is magical and the people are so welcoming. In Bologna you really should stop in at Caffe Terzi for some mind blowing coffee and Il Gelatauro for your daily gelato.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago