Day 15: Life in Venice - Mambo Italiano - CycleBlaze

September 21, 2023

Day 15: Life in Venice

I know when it's a dream

There's some apathetic Gen X part of my brain that makes me not want to enjoy Venice. I want to eat musty strawberries and catch cholera, I want to put myself in the shoes of the porters and souvenir stall owners and waiters whose rent depends on the constant flow of hapless tourists, but you know, I just can't. A city with no cars, a city with history, a city with open markets and public squares, playgrounds, and children frolicking; a seemingly endless maze of alleyways and bridges; museums and art and concerts and libraries. It strikes a perfect balance between tourist attraction and living space. I don't know if I'd actually want to live here, but I'm intrigued enough that I'd give it a try if the right opportunity presented itself.

Anyway, on with the slide show. No text, just captions here and there. It looks like we're going to get some weather tomorrow, so I'm not sure exactly what to do. We'll figure it out though. Stay tuned.

Certainly convenient to reach Venice by boat
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our first bridge of many
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The only quest for today was to check out the bike parking situation at the end of the causeway. It was kind of weird to see cars and buses and trams and all that jazz after wandering the walkable city for an hour.
Heart 1 Comment 0
So this is it. I didn't have a good look at the lockers, but I think they would be big enough to hold a bike and 4 panniers. One might have to remove them from the bike to fit them in. There was an attendant on duty, so that's good.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Outside a peaceful little park we took a break in.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think I'm going to make this gondola traffic jam the new cover art for my journal
Heart 3 Comment 1
Heart 1 Comment 0
We stumbled into the Museo della Musica di Venezia just before its noon closure. We had lunch and then returned when it reopened. It's small, but they have some nice basses and cellos, such as this pear-shaped bass from 1700.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A trio of fine Italian basses
Heart 1 Comment 0
The middle one's an Amati! Someone needs to be playing this thing. I hope they lend out their instruments from time to time.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The obligatory St. Mark's photo. Don't get me wrong -- it is very impressive.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We visited the Accademia museum as well. Lots of Titian, if you're into that sort of thing. I usually just wander around until something really catches my eye.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0