Marulan to Moss Vale - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

May 3, 2024

Marulan to Moss Vale

I had some porridge in my room but decided the cafe 3 doors up looked very inviting. I'm still playing with the route to take today.

Komoot has suggested I take a route on the west side of the Hume highway - M31, but Google maps had a route on the east side effectively following the railway line with several towns on the way. It starts out being called the Highland Way but changes it's name several times along the way. Unfortunately this route involved going up the Hume Highway approx 1 km and then crossing over the highway!! That's the emergency stopping lane, 2 lanes of fast moving traffic, a large medium strip and then the same on the other side. Not a safe option but do-able if necessary. 

I asked the lady at the cafe was there an alternative, nope sorry. While I'm eating raisin toast and drinking my coffee a local slightly scruffy bloke comes in, taking a lot of interest in my bike. He is carrying a pannier. Mmm a fellow cyclists. His name is Nick.

Do you happen to know a way to Tallong without going along the highway? Yes, you can go under it and along a 'short cut' says Nick.

So it turns out you can go under the M31 and then along the Marulan entry ramp, yes thats going the wrong way along the ramp. Then across a well travelled bit of scrub and presto you're on the end of the Old Tallong road, it then connects up to the Highland Way. Definitely local knowledge needed and Nick kindly hopped on his bike to showed me the way. I thanked Nick and he headed back to get his coffee 🙂

Old Tallong Road to nowhere
Heart 1 Comment 0

I joined the Highland Way and started making my way to Tallong. Just outside Tallong is the Barbers Creek Rail Bridge, I thought it was very cool 😎

Barbers Creek Rail Bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0

On the other side of the bridge they have dug up the road and left a wet slippery mess. It's so slippy I couldn't photograph it until I was through.

Road works just made a mess of Lexi.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The farmers around here are big on front yard art and design.

Piggy letter box 🙂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lovely old tractor display
Heart 0 Comment 0
Old other stuff and garden
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped in Penrose for morning tea. The bus stop was lovely and out of the breeze. The secondhand store across the road looked interesting but I didn't have a look because I have nowhere to put anything. 😃

Penrose bus stop. Train station behind
Heart 0 Comment 0

I made my way to Bundanoon. I liked it straight away.

As the sign says
Heart 0 Comment 0

The train station was cute in a train sort of way. I was reading a sign about the town when Shauna came over for a chat. 

Bundanoon train station
Heart 0 Comment 0

She is cycle tourist too. Her and her husband have done several trips in Australia, including the Murray River Adventure trail. We had a lovely coffee and chat. It was nice to talk to a fellow female cycle tourist.

Shauna - thanks for the coffee and chat 😊 ☕
Heart 0 Comment 0

My final stop is Moss Vale, I've got a cabin at the caravan park for the weekend then onto Sydney by train first thing Monday morning.

Lexi can fit inside (just) but first I need to clean her up from the mud early in the day. Nothing like a saucepan when you don't have a bucket 🪣 

Mud, mud glorious mud
Heart 0 Comment 0

And that's it for this trip. Thanks for reading along. Bye 👋

Today's ride: 57 km (35 miles)
Total: 1,119 km (695 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Esther CaprezWow! You made it, Congratz, Brianna! In 1983, I took train from sydney to marulan (I think) & cycled to Bundanoon - on the night Bob Hawke was elected Prime Minister! Also really like Bundanoon. Happy Travels back to SA, Esther
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Julie KenworthyJust had another read of your journal. This is my type of e-bike cycling journey. Well done to you and Lexi. Impressed with how you linked the rail trails and the planning it must have taken. Could you comment on your solar panels please. Were they worth taking given weight? How effective are they charging your battery when the sun is out? I was wondering what you were charging as you travelled along too? Thx
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Brianna DallTo Julie KenworthyHi Julie, thanks for your lovely comments. No I don't think I'd bother with the solar panel again. Partly because I really didn't have sunny enough days during this trip to make use of it. Partly because I stayed mostly in caravan parks or other places I could charge stuff. Also my power bank has enough juice to charge my mobiles and lights at least twice. If I was concerned I'd just take a second power bank instead. The solar panel wasn't nearly large enough to charge the bike.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago
Brianna DallTo Esther CaprezThanks Esther.
Reply to this comment
1 week ago