Goulburn to Marulan - Geelong a Continuation - CycleBlaze

May 2, 2024

Goulburn to Marulan

Back in the road after a couple of days in Canberra with friends. Those same friends drove me to Goulburn and I've cycled from there.  

My plan is to cycle to Moss Vale and catch a train into Sydney. I couldn't catch the train from Canberra because then it would have to be put in a box that can't weigh more than 20kgs.  The Southern Highlands train line starts in Goulburn but most trains don't go past Moss Vale. By riding to Moss Vale I can catch a train into Sydney mid morning that will go all the way into central without having to change trains 

A quick lunch at a cafe in Goulburn before I headed out of town on Braidwood Rd and then onto Mountain Ash Rd.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm heading towards the Bungonia National park but I'm not going there. There's a good shoulder and the traffic is light and giving me plenty of space.

Horse and sheep territory
Heart 0 Comment 0

There are lots of smaller holdings with may horses and some sheep.

The letterboxes come in groups and often with a school bus stop.

Letterboxes
Heart 0 Comment 0

I turn onto the Jerrara Rd just before Bungonia.  Some after I'm sharing the road with several trucks and even one logging truck. I give them space and pull over to let them pass.

Farmer art in their front yard
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm making my way around to Marulan. The direct route would have been up the M31 instead I'm doing two sides of a triangle.

Up and over The Hume highway - M31
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I go over the M31 my plan was to circle around town and come in the back of town but Komoot has made a mistake the road I wanted to take is a private road into a quarry.

Surely not
Heart 0 Comment 0

My only option is to take the M31. It is only for 2kms to get into Marulan, but I'm not happy about it.

M31🥺
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm in an interesting house that has been seperate and each room is rented out like a hotel room. It comfortable and I have a good undercover spot for Lexi.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 km (28 miles)
Total: 1,062 km (660 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0